PC Review
Forums
Newsgroups
Microsoft AntiSpyware
Security and Anti-Spyware Community
SearchSquire
Forums
Newsgroups
Microsoft AntiSpyware
Security and Anti-Spyware Community
SearchSquire
![]() |
SearchSquire |
|
|
Thread Tools | Rate Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
Microsofts antispyware beta 1 gave me a false positive on
a adware program called SearchSquire. It is really a definition for Spybot's Search and Destroy Anti spyware program which is a well known and trusted antispy app. By deleting this definition you will get less protection from searchsquire adware as spybot is no longer protecting you from it. |
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
>-----Original Message----- >Microsofts antispyware beta 1 gave me a false positive on >a adware program called SearchSquire. It is really a >definition for Spybot's Search and Destroy Anti spyware >program which is a well known and trusted antispy app. By >deleting this definition you will get less protection from >searchsquire adware as spybot is no longer protecting you >from it. >. It's worse. The actual entry (at least on my machine) is: [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi on\Internet Settings\ZoneMap\Domains\searchsquire.com] "*"=dword:00000004 which, I believe, is a Internet Explorer record that puts SearchSquire.com in the Restricted Zone... I.e, not something to complain about. Otherwise, contrary to every other package I tried, I didn't get loads of false positives. |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Guest
Posts: n/a
|
>-----Original Message-----
>It's worse. The actual entry (at least on my machine) is: > > [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi >on\Internet Settings\ZoneMap\Domains\searchsquire.com] >"*"=dword:00000004 > >which, I believe, is a Internet Explorer record that puts >SearchSquire.com in the Restricted Zone... > >I.e, not something to complain about. > >Otherwise, contrary to every other package I tried, I >didn't get loads of false positives. Yes, this "Restricted Zone" false positive with "searchsquire.com" is very troublesome -- since I assume other domains in the Restricted Zone could be flagged during the registry scan, as well. Another false positive I found was with domain "redv.net" in MSIE's "Always Block" cookies list. Similar to above, Microsoft's AntiSpyware Beta1 product flagged it as a "High" security risk. Yeah, right...sure. Needless to say, I had to change the default action for these two domains from "Remove" to "Always Ignore". Personally, the AntiSpyware scan should only be concerned if these domains appeared in the "Trusted Sites" list or the "Always Allow" cookie list. |
|
![]() |
|
| Thread Tools | |
| Rate This Thread | |
|
|

Main Page 

