PC Review Forums Newsgroups Microsoft AntiSpyware Security Signatures False Positive? - dijpg.dll

Reply

False Positive? - dijpg.dll

 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old 07-01-2005, 10:45 AM   #1
Pantscum
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default False Positive? - dijpg.dll


Throws this DLL up as a RAT, as far as I can tell its
not, used to convert BMPs to JPG. Availble here
http://www.disoft.com/oss/dijpg.htm. Source code is
available there also.

I may be wrong....?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 06:03 PM   #2
John
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: False Positive? - dijpg.dll

Check this: Rewindo Trojan Horse

"Pantscum" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:09e501c4f4a5$f74657a0$a301280a@phx.gbl...
> Throws this DLL up as a RAT, as far as I can tell its
> not, used to convert BMPs to JPG. Availble here
> http://www.disoft.com/oss/dijpg.htm. Source code is
> available there also.
>
> I may be wrong....?



  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 06:03 PM   #3
John
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: False Positive? - dijpg.dll

http://www.sophos.com/virusinfo/ana...ojrewindoa.html



"Pantscum" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:09e501c4f4a5$f74657a0$a301280a@phx.gbl...
> Throws this DLL up as a RAT, as far as I can tell its
> not, used to convert BMPs to JPG. Availble here
> http://www.disoft.com/oss/dijpg.htm. Source code is
> available there also.
>
> I may be wrong....?



  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 07:59 PM   #4
user
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: False Positive? - dijpg.dll

You can see on the advanced tab that that file is clean,
it is probably used to convert BMP screen shots to JPG
for upload (by the trojan). Just because a trojan uses a
tool, it doesn't mean that that tool is malicious.

>-----Original Message-----
>http://www.sophos.com/virusinfo/ana...rojrewindoa.htm

l
>
>
>
>"Pantscum" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote

in message
>news:09e501c4f4a5$f74657a0$a301280a@phx.gbl...
>> Throws this DLL up as a RAT, as far as I can tell its
>> not, used to convert BMPs to JPG. Availble here
>> http://www.disoft.com/oss/dijpg.htm. Source code is
>> available there also.
>>
>> I may be wrong....?

>
>
>.
>

  Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2005, 09:21 PM   #5
John
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: False Positive? - dijpg.dll

But that is why it was detected as a threat, not necessarily a true spy.

"user" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:171701c4f4f3$6ab6c650$a601280a@phx.gbl...
> You can see on the advanced tab that that file is clean,
> it is probably used to convert BMP screen shots to JPG
> for upload (by the trojan). Just because a trojan uses a
> tool, it doesn't mean that that tool is malicious.
>
>>-----Original Message-----
>>http://www.sophos.com/virusinfo/ana...rojrewindoa.htm

> l
>>
>>
>>
>>"Pantscum" <anonymous@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote

> in message
>>news:09e501c4f4a5$f74657a0$a301280a@phx.gbl...
>>> Throws this DLL up as a RAT, as far as I can tell its
>>> not, used to convert BMPs to JPG. Availble here
>>> http://www.disoft.com/oss/dijpg.htm. Source code is
>>> available there also.
>>>
>>> I may be wrong....?

>>
>>
>>.
>>



  Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off