PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

Static IP changes to dynamic automatically

 
 
S N
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12th Oct 2009
I have a Windows 2000 server machine running IIS and hosting various
websites on my intranet.
All PCs in my network are running on DHCP except this server machine which
has been allotted a static IP. The DNS server is also on this network.
However, recently this server is behaving erratically. Its static IP
automatically changes to automatic IP using DHCP- as a result of which the
server becomes inaccessible because of unknown IP address.

Kindly advise on how to ensure that the assigned IP address remains on the
machine and does not change to automatic IP using DHCP.


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
geoar75@gmail.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12th Oct 2009
Hi,

Normally, if you choose a static IP address, it should remain this
way.
Do you have an antivirus installed?

Giorgos

--

NetPros community
http://netpros.freeforums.org

On Oct 12, 6:46*pm, "S N" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> I have a Windows 2000 server machine running IIS and hosting various
> websites on my intranet.
> All PCs in my network are running on DHCP except this server machine which
> has been allotted a static IP. The DNS server is also on this network.
> However, recently this server is behaving erratically. Its static IP
> automatically changes to automatic IP using DHCP- as a result of which the
> server becomes inaccessible because of unknown IP address.
>
> Kindly advise on how to ensure that the assigned IP address remains on the
> machine and does not change to automatic IP using DHCP.


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12th Oct 2009
S N <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> I have a Windows 2000 server machine running IIS and hosting various
> websites on my intranet.
> All PCs in my network are running on DHCP except this server machine
> which has been allotted a static IP. The DNS server is also on this
> network. However, recently this server is behaving erratically. Its
> static IP automatically changes to automatic IP using DHCP- as a
> result of which the server becomes inaccessible because of unknown IP
> address.
> Kindly advise on how to ensure that the assigned IP address remains
> on the machine and does not change to automatic IP using DHCP.


Something is corrupt in the registry.

Uninstall the NIC but don't reboot
Go through HKLM\system\currentcontrolset\control\network
Find and delete all references to this NIC
Reboot
Let it redetect/reinstall the NIC

You should be fine from then on. This has happened to me a few times over
the years and I never figured out why.



 
Reply With Quote
 
Ace Fekay [MCT]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      13th Oct 2009
"Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>S N <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>> I have a Windows 2000 server machine running IIS and hosting various
>> websites on my intranet.
>> All PCs in my network are running on DHCP except this server machine
>> which has been allotted a static IP. The DNS server is also on this
>> network. However, recently this server is behaving erratically. Its
>> static IP automatically changes to automatic IP using DHCP- as a
>> result of which the server becomes inaccessible because of unknown IP
>> address.
>> Kindly advise on how to ensure that the assigned IP address remains
>> on the machine and does not change to automatic IP using DHCP.

>
> Something is corrupt in the registry.
>
> Uninstall the NIC but don't reboot
> Go through HKLM\system\currentcontrolset\control\network
> Find and delete all references to this NIC
> Reboot
> Let it redetect/reinstall the NIC
>
> You should be fine from then on. This has happened to me a few times over
> the years and I never figured out why.
>
>
>



Just to add and clarify, I found a post in the following link, that the
poster got Microsoft PSS to assist in a similar issue. The reg entry you
quoted is correct, but there is one more spot under 'network.' which is
'config.' Not sure if that makes a difference or not, but

http://www.experts-exchange.com/OS/M..._23453074.html

"[...] We finally got Microsoft to help and they tracked down the problem.
They found a corrupted registry entry in our TCP-IP configuration that
doesn't allow the GUI to successfully change the TCP-IP settings.
The reg entry is removed, and the computer restarted.
TCP-IP service finds the reg entry missing, and rebuilds it.
Voila - The GUI displays properly and will set/reset the TCP-IP setting
properly.
Unfortunately, I can't tell you what was the original cause of the corrupted
reg entry.

Deleting the following reg entry solved our problem:
My computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Network\Config"


--
Ace

This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees and
confers no rights.

Please reply back to the newsgroup or forum for collaboration benefit among
responding engineers, and to help others benefit from your resolution.

Ace Fekay, MCT, MCITP Windows 2008, MCTS Exchange 2007, MCSE & MCSA 2003 &
2000, MCSA Messaging 2003
Microsoft Certified Trainer

For urgent issues, please contact Microsoft PSS directly. Please check
http://support.microsoft.com for regional support phone numbers.


 
Reply With Quote
 
Dave Patrick
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      13th Oct 2009
FPN, you can't be sure if and when ControlSet001 would be used again. Always
should be in CurrentControlSet


--

Regards,

Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
Microsoft Certified Professional
Microsoft MVP [Windows]
http://www.microsoft.com/protect


"Ace Fekay [MCT]" wrote:
> Just to add and clarify, I found a post in the following link, that the
> poster got Microsoft PSS to assist in a similar issue. The reg entry you
> quoted is correct, but there is one more spot under 'network.' which is
> 'config.' Not sure if that makes a difference or not, but
>
> http://www.experts-exchange.com/OS/M..._23453074.html
>
> "[...] We finally got Microsoft to help and they tracked down the problem.
> They found a corrupted registry entry in our TCP-IP configuration that
> doesn't allow the GUI to successfully change the TCP-IP settings.
> The reg entry is removed, and the computer restarted.
> TCP-IP service finds the reg entry missing, and rebuilds it.
> Voila - The GUI displays properly and will set/reset the TCP-IP setting
> properly.
> Unfortunately, I can't tell you what was the original cause of the
> corrupted reg entry.
>
> Deleting the following reg entry solved our problem:
> My
> computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Network\Config"
>
>
> --
> Ace
>
> This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees and
> confers no rights.
>
> Please reply back to the newsgroup or forum for collaboration benefit
> among responding engineers, and to help others benefit from your
> resolution.
>
> Ace Fekay, MCT, MCITP Windows 2008, MCTS Exchange 2007, MCSE & MCSA 2003 &
> 2000, MCSA Messaging 2003
> Microsoft Certified Trainer
>
> For urgent issues, please contact Microsoft PSS directly. Please check
> http://support.microsoft.com for regional support phone numbers.
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
Ace Fekay [MCT]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      13th Oct 2009
"Dave Patrick" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...

Good point. And I'm not sure why PSS would have indicated using 001. I
should have edited that prior to posting. :-)

Thanks!

Ace

> FPN, you can't be sure if and when ControlSet001 would be used again.
> Always should be in CurrentControlSet
>
>
> --
>
> Regards,
>
> Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
> Microsoft Certified Professional
> Microsoft MVP [Windows]
> http://www.microsoft.com/protect
>
>
> "Ace Fekay [MCT]" wrote:
>> Just to add and clarify, I found a post in the following link, that the
>> poster got Microsoft PSS to assist in a similar issue. The reg entry you
>> quoted is correct, but there is one more spot under 'network.' which is
>> 'config.' Not sure if that makes a difference or not, but
>>
>> http://www.experts-exchange.com/OS/M..._23453074.html
>>
>> "[...] We finally got Microsoft to help and they tracked down the
>> problem.
>> They found a corrupted registry entry in our TCP-IP configuration that
>> doesn't allow the GUI to successfully change the TCP-IP settings.
>> The reg entry is removed, and the computer restarted.
>> TCP-IP service finds the reg entry missing, and rebuilds it.
>> Voila - The GUI displays properly and will set/reset the TCP-IP setting
>> properly.
>> Unfortunately, I can't tell you what was the original cause of the
>> corrupted reg entry.
>>
>> Deleting the following reg entry solved our problem:
>> My
>> computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Network\Config"
>>
>>
>> --
>> Ace
>>
>> This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees and
>> confers no rights.
>>
>> Please reply back to the newsgroup or forum for collaboration benefit
>> among responding engineers, and to help others benefit from your
>> resolution.
>>
>> Ace Fekay, MCT, MCITP Windows 2008, MCTS Exchange 2007, MCSE & MCSA 2003
>> & 2000, MCSA Messaging 2003
>> Microsoft Certified Trainer
>>
>> For urgent issues, please contact Microsoft PSS directly. Please check
>> http://support.microsoft.com for regional support phone numbers.
>>

>




 
Reply With Quote
 
Dave Patrick
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      13th Oct 2009
No problem.


--

Regards,

Dave Patrick ....Please no email replies - reply in newsgroup.
Microsoft Certified Professional
Microsoft MVP [Windows]
http://www.microsoft.com/protect


"Ace Fekay [MCT]" wrote:
> Good point. And I'm not sure why PSS would have indicated using 001. I
> should have edited that prior to posting. :-)
>
> Thanks!
>
> Ace

 
Reply With Quote
 
S N
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      13th Oct 2009
This is the problem faced by me.

"Ace Fekay [MCT]" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> "Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]"
> <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in
> message news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>>S N <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>>> I have a Windows 2000 server machine running IIS and hosting various
>>> websites on my intranet.
>>> All PCs in my network are running on DHCP except this server machine
>>> which has been allotted a static IP. The DNS server is also on this
>>> network. However, recently this server is behaving erratically. Its
>>> static IP automatically changes to automatic IP using DHCP- as a
>>> result of which the server becomes inaccessible because of unknown IP
>>> address.
>>> Kindly advise on how to ensure that the assigned IP address remains
>>> on the machine and does not change to automatic IP using DHCP.

>>
>> Something is corrupt in the registry.
>>
>> Uninstall the NIC but don't reboot
>> Go through HKLM\system\currentcontrolset\control\network
>> Find and delete all references to this NIC
>> Reboot
>> Let it redetect/reinstall the NIC
>>
>> You should be fine from then on. This has happened to me a few times over
>> the years and I never figured out why.
>>
>>
>>

>
>
> Just to add and clarify, I found a post in the following link, that the
> poster got Microsoft PSS to assist in a similar issue. The reg entry you
> quoted is correct, but there is one more spot under 'network.' which is
> 'config.' Not sure if that makes a difference or not, but
>
> http://www.experts-exchange.com/OS/M..._23453074.html
>
> "[...] We finally got Microsoft to help and they tracked down the problem.
> They found a corrupted registry entry in our TCP-IP configuration that
> doesn't allow the GUI to successfully change the TCP-IP settings.
> The reg entry is removed, and the computer restarted.
> TCP-IP service finds the reg entry missing, and rebuilds it.
> Voila - The GUI displays properly and will set/reset the TCP-IP setting
> properly.
> Unfortunately, I can't tell you what was the original cause of the
> corrupted reg entry.
>
> Deleting the following reg entry solved our problem:
> My
> computer\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\Network\Config"
>
>
> --
> Ace
>
> This posting is provided "AS-IS" with no warranties or guarantees and
> confers no rights.
>
> Please reply back to the newsgroup or forum for collaboration benefit
> among responding engineers, and to help others benefit from your
> resolution.
>
> Ace Fekay, MCT, MCITP Windows 2008, MCTS Exchange 2007, MCSE & MCSA 2003 &
> 2000, MCSA Messaging 2003
> Microsoft Certified Trainer
>
> For urgent issues, please contact Microsoft PSS directly. Please check
> http://support.microsoft.com for regional support phone numbers.
>


 
Reply With Quote
 
Ace Fekay [MCT]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      13th Oct 2009

"S N" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> This is the problem faced by me.


I understand. Did you follow our suggestions to delete the registry key and
reboot your machine?

Ace



 
Reply With Quote
 
Lanwench [MVP - Exchange]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      13th Oct 2009
S N <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
> This is the problem faced by me.


Yes, I know. So try what I suggested. ;-)


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static interfaces? Static method attributes? rogercnorris@yahoo.com Microsoft Dot NET Framework 1 1st Feb 2005 06:34 PM
Static DNS addresses Automatically Changes =?Utf-8?B?a3JvYg==?= Windows XP Networking 1 30th Nov 2004 09:51 PM
Static vs. non-static connection Natan Microsoft ASP .NET 8 26th May 2004 09:21 AM
Static data access method vs non-static method CW Microsoft ASP .NET 1 31st Mar 2004 06:34 PM
How static is static? - please help Tilfried Weissenberger Microsoft Dot NET Framework 2 20th Jul 2003 08:25 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:28 PM.