PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 5.00 average.

Set up PC to act as a server

 
 
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 97
 
      14th Mar 2006
i heard there was a way of using an old PC to act as your server?


is this possible and how do i do it?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Ian Ian is offline
Rocket Scientist
Ian's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 16,725
 
      14th Mar 2006
Do you want to host webpages for others, or just test things out for yourself? There are quite a few ways to do this, but if you explain I'll list the best options
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 97
 
      17th Mar 2006
ideally i'd like to host pages for other ppl but in the meantime i just want it to test pages locally.

i've tried installing IIS but this doesn't even list under my Windows Components.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Senior Member
christopherpostill's Avatar
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge (Uni)
Posts: 6,627
 
      17th Mar 2006
It would be not such a great idea to host pages for other people on an old PC at home.

Why? Your internet connection is probably only 256k upstreak - v slow. Also if it goes wrong or you have a powercut or anything then it wont work... people would be let down...

 
EVGA 680SLi Motherboard, Intel E6600 LGA775 3.4GHz OC'd, ATI Radeon HD 5850 1024Mb, 4Gb Corsair XMS C4 2x Matched Pairs, Samsung Spinpoint's 740Gb RAID 0 SATAII, Antec Three Hundred Case, Windows 7 Home Premium.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ian Ian is offline
Rocket Scientist
Ian's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 16,725
 
      17th Mar 2006
If its just to test, give this a go:

http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp.html
 
Reply With Quote
 
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 97
 
      17th Mar 2006
cool, thanks ian. will give it a go for my local files.

just out of interest thou, know any good web servers with free web space?

i have a website i'm creating for a company and they want to be able to view it
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 6
 
      20th Mar 2006
using your PC as a server really isn't a good idea (as chris* mentioned) unless you already know you are going to make mega $$ from it for whatever various reason. This is because in order for it to be worth while, you would have to invest in @least a fractional T1 line, for which you would have to lease a CSU/DSU and DVM modem from telco - making really big monthly bills.

if you wanted to do it, you would have to be hosting quite a few websites for clients to make it worth the $$.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 97
 
      20th Mar 2006
oh ok. thanks for all the info

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACT 6 import - Act Calls =?Utf-8?B?Qm9iIFBhdHRlcnNvbg==?= Microsoft Outlook BCM 3 14th May 2007 06:18 AM
'Attach to ACT! contact(s)' error msg to run ACT at least once... =?Utf-8?B?U3V6YQ==?= Microsoft Outlook Discussion 1 15th Aug 2006 07:02 PM
Re: Migration from ACT 8.0 or ACT 2005 to Business Contact Mgr 200 =?Utf-8?B?Q2h1Y2sgSA==?= Microsoft Outlook BCM 0 20th Mar 2006 07:29 PM
Contacts importing from ACT - Help refers to ACT but isnt in my v. =?Utf-8?B?Q3J5c3RhbA==?= Microsoft Outlook BCM 1 28th Jun 2005 05:49 PM
Act! - How to save sent emails to Act ! Records CJ McClanahn Microsoft Outlook 0 15th Nov 2003 04:49 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:53 PM.