PC Review


Reply
 
 
Hon. Acoustical Engineer
Quadophile's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 5,782
 
      8th Mar 2010
You always do a wonderful job of switching and this time also things are going smoothly

 

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
4x4 Cruncher
feckit's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Plant Earth
Posts: 10,803
 
      8th Mar 2010
You do a great job running the forum.

Could you try running the country as well!

 
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Hon. Acoustical Engineer
Quadophile's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 5,782
 
      8th Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by feckit
You do a great job running the forum.

Could you try running the country as well!
I hope that in my lifetime I will see Ian as Prime Minister of Great Britain. Can you imagine PC Review get together at 10 Downing Street ?

 

 
Reply With Quote
 
V_R V_R is offline
@120Hz
V_R's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 10,431
 
      8th Mar 2010
Nice one Ian.

Out of interest, couple of questions. If you dont mind

What exactly was involved in the move, (I'm just interested) and i cant remember how we check if we are using the new DNS, is there a way? Will doing a DNS Flush make any difference?

 


Gigabyte Z87X-OC | i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz | Corsair H80i | 16Gb TeamGroup Vulcan Orange
EVGA 780 FTW | Creative X-FI Titanium HD | 500Gb Samsung EVO SSD + 4TB's of Storage
Corsair HX850 | Logitech G25 | Ducky Shine III | Deathadder 2013 | Wireless 360 Pad
Corsair Carbide 300R | BenQ XL2420T | Acoustic Energy Aego M | Windows 8.1 64 Bit
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ian Ian is offline
Rocket Scientist
Ian's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 16,886
 
      8th Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by feckit
Could you try running the country as well!
Haha, now that would be fun
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ian Ian is offline
Rocket Scientist
Ian's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 16,886
 
      8th Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by V_R
Nice one Ian.

Out of interest, couple of questions. If you dont mind

What exactly was involved in the move, (I'm just interested) and i cant remember how we check if we are using the new DNS, is there a way? Will doing a DNS Flush make any difference?
A DNS Flush might speed things up if your ISP DNS has picked up the change. You can test if you are on the new server by going to a fake URL on the site (just make up a filename) and if you get a grey bar along the top with red error text, then you are on the new site.

The move involved:
  • Getting hold of a new server
  • Install control panel software, MySQL, PHP etc...
  • Freeze old database and make a "dump"
  • FTP old files + DB dump to new server
  • Restore DB dump to new database
  • test, test, test
  • Change nameservers from old host to new one
  • Bingo!
Most of the time was spent adding lots of tweaks to PHP and MySQL to make sure that lots of things are cached.
 
Reply With Quote
 
sugar 'n spikes
floppybootstomp's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 18,254
 
      8th Mar 2010
In best John Travolta voice:

'Why, it's greased lightning...'

Well done boss

 
Don Van Vliet 1941 - 2010. And the acid gold bar swirled up and down, up and down.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Internet Junkie
Me__2001's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 4,355
 
      8th Mar 2010
not sure if its related to the server move or not but when i look at the latest posts and click onto 'last page' for flops' mini blog it takes me to the first page

 
I'm out of bed and dressed, what more do you want?

I always take life with a grain of salt, ... a slice of lemon, ...and a shot of tequila

I used to have an open mind but my brains kept falling out

One more step to enlightenment ... but which way ?



 
Reply With Quote
 
sugar 'n spikes
floppybootstomp's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 18,254
 
      9th Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Me__2001
not sure if its related to the server move or not but when i look at the latest posts and click onto 'last page' for flops' mini blog it takes me to the first page
That happened to me with the previous server and, I note, with the new server.

Not just my thread referenced above but all threads with several pages.

I'd always considered it a quirk and just put up with it but I guess it is a fault.

 
Don Van Vliet 1941 - 2010. And the acid gold bar swirled up and down, up and down.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Internet Junkie
Me__2001's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 4,355
 
      9th Mar 2010
That's interesting flops, it works fine if i click the page number, just the last page one that doesn't work. I can't remember it being there before, it probably was but i can't remember and there aren't many long threads on here that are active atm

 
I'm out of bed and dressed, what more do you want?

I always take life with a grain of salt, ... a slice of lemon, ...and a shot of tequila

I used to have an open mind but my brains kept falling out

One more step to enlightenment ... but which way ?



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To move or not to move to a Terminal Server doyle60@aol.com Microsoft Access VBA Modules 20 26th May 2009 04:26 PM
To move or not to move to a Terminal Server doyle60@aol.com Microsoft Access VBA Modules 0 18th May 2009 04:03 PM
How do i change this connect string to support a SQL Server 2000 running on port 8832 User ID=car;Password=rat;Server=abc.def.hij;Initial Catalog=foobar i tried Server=abc.def.hij:8823 and Server=abc.def.hij;port=8823 neither of these work Daniel Microsoft Dot NET Framework 1 16th Dec 2004 10:55 PM
server to server pptp (1 nic per server) (server is dc) scott Microsoft Windows 2000 RAS Routing 7 2nd Apr 2004 10:22 AM
Can only see Server 1 from Server 2 when Server 2 can see Server 1 Steve W Microsoft Windows 2000 Networking 0 26th Feb 2004 06:03 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:27 PM.