PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

restricting access

 
 
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
 
      3rd Jul 2012
Hi guys,

I have a wireless router that our laptops and consoles can all access. I want to be able to restrict access to the consoles and the kids laptops so they're not on them in the middle of the night.

Please help.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Senior Member
TriplexDread's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Wirral
Posts: 6,248
 
      3rd Jul 2012
You can setup time restrictions on most routers. This is built into the router firmware/software

Dictating what times am and pm for any specific MAC address will give you complete control

Heres a couple of examples. Depending on your router it maybe worded differently

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ka4ODps9Gak

http://www6.nohold.net/Cisco2/ukp.as...articleid=4041

 
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
 
      7th Jul 2012
Thanks very much
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
 
      8th Jul 2012
I have looked at the links and they do not apply for my router, it is a w ifi from Sky.

Thanks for the help.

Does anyone know what I can do now?
 
Reply With Quote
 
sugar 'n spikes
floppybootstomp's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 17,946
 
      8th Jul 2012
You could just unplug the router before you go to bed each night

 
Don Van Vliet 1941 - 2010. And the acid gold bar swirled up and down, up and down.
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
 
      9th Jul 2012
I leave stuff to download overnight and the sky anytime updates too.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Silly Fool
EvanDavis's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3,135
 
      9th Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharleena View Post
I have looked at the links and they do not apply for my router, it is a w ifi from Sky.
What make and model is the Sky router you are using ? Tat would make a great help. Aldo with the laptops You could use Admin account to create user accounts and set/grant persmisions that will allow or not allow them to certain things :-)

 
 
Reply With Quote
 
V_R V_R is offline
@120Hz
V_R's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 10,205
 
      9th Jul 2012
The sky router is locked down harder than a.... well. you know i believe.

However, the standard Anytime stuff doesn't come via the phone line or via the router..

I haven't had either of my boxes (1x 1Tb and 1x Sky+HD) connected to the phone line for literally years.

Only since sky has opened up anytime+ to non Sky BB customers have i connected it.

The Sky Router is a 'Sky Sagem F@ST2504n'

 


Gigabyte Z87X-OC | i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz | Corsair H80i | 16Gb TeamGroup Vulcan Orange
EVGA 780 FTW | Creative X-FI Titanium HD | 500Gb Samsung EVO SSD + 4TB's of Storage
Corsair HX850 | Logitech G25 | Ducky Shine III | Deathadder 2013 | Wireless 360 Pad
Corsair Carbide 300R | BenQ XL2420T | Acoustic Energy Aego M | Windows 8.1 64 Bit
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 6
 
      9th Jul 2012
Sky were ringing me when the box wasn't connected and demanded it was plugged in as they could tell. I'm not sure what to do now.
 
Reply With Quote
 
V_R V_R is offline
@120Hz
V_R's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 10,205
 
      9th Jul 2012
Yeah I've heard that before, but i have never had either pugged in... Never had a phone call either..... I feel left out.

 


Gigabyte Z87X-OC | i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz | Corsair H80i | 16Gb TeamGroup Vulcan Orange
EVGA 780 FTW | Creative X-FI Titanium HD | 500Gb Samsung EVO SSD + 4TB's of Storage
Corsair HX850 | Logitech G25 | Ducky Shine III | Deathadder 2013 | Wireless 360 Pad
Corsair Carbide 300R | BenQ XL2420T | Acoustic Energy Aego M | Windows 8.1 64 Bit
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restricting User Access In Access 2010 Sharepoint With Hydrated Database bobalston Microsoft Access 0 6th Nov 2012 02:28 AM
Sharing access, but restricting access to some messages =?Utf-8?B?R2VvZmYgQw==?= Microsoft Outlook Discussion 3 17th Jul 2007 01:13 PM
Partition restricting full admin access Pilot_51 Windows XP Help 2 2nd Jan 2004 04:58 PM
restricting access on XP Rich Czuba Windows XP Help 1 18th Nov 2003 05:31 AM
Restricting folder access in WinXP fingerz Windows XP 1 4th Mar 2003 02:21 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:33 AM.