PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

Re-calculate

 
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      2nd May 2007
Folks:



In my spreadsheet, I have a section in which imported data from a text file
is located. The other section of my spreadsheet (containing the necessary
formulae)
is devoted to running calculations on the newly imported data. It looks like
the calculations do not completely & automatically take place after the
fresh data
from the text file is imported.

So I have to manually copy & paste the formulae throughout the calculation
section once again. At this point I get to my final destination of nice
clean fresh calculations.
I was hoping to solve this problem by hitting the "Refresh Current Page"
button; but looks like this simply loads the file all over again.

* Is there a way to get my spreadsheet to re-run the calculations
immediately after I re-load fresh data ?



Thanks,
John.


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Pete_UK
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      2nd May 2007
Have you tried pressing the F9 key to do a re-calculation?

Hope this helps.

Pete


On May 2, 2:34 pm, <JoJo> wrote:
> Folks:
>
> In my spreadsheet, I have a section in which imported data from a text file
> is located. The other section of my spreadsheet (containing the necessary
> formulae)
> is devoted to running calculations on the newly imported data. It looks like
> the calculations do not completely & automatically take place after the
> fresh data
> from the text file is imported.
>
> So I have to manually copy & paste the formulae throughout the calculation
> section once again. At this point I get to my final destination of nice
> clean fresh calculations.
> I was hoping to solve this problem by hitting the "Refresh Current Page"
> button; but looks like this simply loads the file all over again.
>
> * Is there a way to get my spreadsheet to re-run the calculations
> immediately after I re-load fresh data ?
>
> Thanks,
> John.



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
=?Utf-8?B?SmFzb24=?=
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      2nd May 2007
Funny - I was coming to the forums to search for a solution to this as well.
I can select the cell...and hit F2 and everything updates. My boss actually
asked the same question because he just noticed the same issue on one of his
spreadsheets (he asked me because I am the "office guru" *snort*)...so now I
am here.

For the record....Excel 2003 (company will upgrade to 2007 when it "goes on
sale, I guess)...Win XP.

Calculation is set for "Automatic"

F9 or selection of "Calc Now" or "Calc Sheet" (under the
Options...Calculation menu) does not solve it.

Anyone? Beuller?

"JoJo" wrote:

> Folks:
>
>
>
> In my spreadsheet, I have a section in which imported data from a text file
> is located. The other section of my spreadsheet (containing the necessary
> formulae)
> is devoted to running calculations on the newly imported data. It looks like
> the calculations do not completely & automatically take place after the
> fresh data
> from the text file is imported.
>
> So I have to manually copy & paste the formulae throughout the calculation
> section once again. At this point I get to my final destination of nice
> clean fresh calculations.
> I was hoping to solve this problem by hitting the "Refresh Current Page"
> button; but looks like this simply loads the file all over again.
>
> * Is there a way to get my spreadsheet to re-run the calculations
> immediately after I re-load fresh data ?
>
>
>
> Thanks,
> John.
>
>
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
=?Utf-8?B?ZXhjZWxlbnQ=?=
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      2nd May 2007
try ctrl+alt+F9


"Jason" skrev:

> Funny - I was coming to the forums to search for a solution to this as well.
> I can select the cell...and hit F2 and everything updates. My boss actually
> asked the same question because he just noticed the same issue on one of his
> spreadsheets (he asked me because I am the "office guru" *snort*)...so now I
> am here.
>
> For the record....Excel 2003 (company will upgrade to 2007 when it "goes on
> sale, I guess)...Win XP.
>
> Calculation is set for "Automatic"
>
> F9 or selection of "Calc Now" or "Calc Sheet" (under the
> Options...Calculation menu) does not solve it.
>
> Anyone? Beuller?
>
> "JoJo" wrote:
>
> > Folks:
> >
> >
> >
> > In my spreadsheet, I have a section in which imported data from a text file
> > is located. The other section of my spreadsheet (containing the necessary
> > formulae)
> > is devoted to running calculations on the newly imported data. It looks like
> > the calculations do not completely & automatically take place after the
> > fresh data
> > from the text file is imported.
> >
> > So I have to manually copy & paste the formulae throughout the calculation
> > section once again. At this point I get to my final destination of nice
> > clean fresh calculations.
> > I was hoping to solve this problem by hitting the "Refresh Current Page"
> > button; but looks like this simply loads the file all over again.
> >
> > * Is there a way to get my spreadsheet to re-run the calculations
> > immediately after I re-load fresh data ?
> >
> >
> >
> > Thanks,
> > John.
> >
> >
> >

 
Reply With Quote
 
=?Utf-8?B?ZXhjZWxlbnQ=?=
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      2nd May 2007
or maby:
Sub reCalc()
Application.CalculateFullRebuild
End Sub


"excelent" skrev:

> try ctrl+alt+F9
>
>
> "Jason" skrev:
>
> > Funny - I was coming to the forums to search for a solution to this as well.
> > I can select the cell...and hit F2 and everything updates. My boss actually
> > asked the same question because he just noticed the same issue on one of his
> > spreadsheets (he asked me because I am the "office guru" *snort*)...so now I
> > am here.
> >
> > For the record....Excel 2003 (company will upgrade to 2007 when it "goes on
> > sale, I guess)...Win XP.
> >
> > Calculation is set for "Automatic"
> >
> > F9 or selection of "Calc Now" or "Calc Sheet" (under the
> > Options...Calculation menu) does not solve it.
> >
> > Anyone? Beuller?
> >
> > "JoJo" wrote:
> >
> > > Folks:
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > In my spreadsheet, I have a section in which imported data from a text file
> > > is located. The other section of my spreadsheet (containing the necessary
> > > formulae)
> > > is devoted to running calculations on the newly imported data. It looks like
> > > the calculations do not completely & automatically take place after the
> > > fresh data
> > > from the text file is imported.
> > >
> > > So I have to manually copy & paste the formulae throughout the calculation
> > > section once again. At this point I get to my final destination of nice
> > > clean fresh calculations.
> > > I was hoping to solve this problem by hitting the "Refresh Current Page"
> > > button; but looks like this simply loads the file all over again.
> > >
> > > * Is there a way to get my spreadsheet to re-run the calculations
> > > immediately after I re-load fresh data ?
> > >
> > >
> > >
> > > Thanks,
> > > John.
> > >
> > >
> > >

 
Reply With Quote
 
=?Utf-8?B?SmFzb24=?=
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      2nd May 2007
Thanks, but

F9 did not work
ctrl+alt+F9 (and all permutations of ctrl/alt/shift with F9) did not work
The macro solution also did not work

:scratching head:

--
//Jason


"excelent" wrote:

> or maby:
> Sub reCalc()
> Application.CalculateFullRebuild
> End Sub
>
>
> "excelent" skrev:
>
> > try ctrl+alt+F9
> >
> >
> > "Jason" skrev:
> >
> > > Funny - I was coming to the forums to search for a solution to this as well.
> > > I can select the cell...and hit F2 and everything updates. My boss actually
> > > asked the same question because he just noticed the same issue on one of his
> > > spreadsheets (he asked me because I am the "office guru" *snort*)...so now I
> > > am here.
> > >
> > > For the record....Excel 2003 (company will upgrade to 2007 when it "goes on
> > > sale, I guess)...Win XP.
> > >
> > > Calculation is set for "Automatic"
> > >
> > > F9 or selection of "Calc Now" or "Calc Sheet" (under the
> > > Options...Calculation menu) does not solve it.
> > >
> > > Anyone? Beuller?
> > >
> > > "JoJo" wrote:
> > >
> > > > Folks:
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > In my spreadsheet, I have a section in which imported data from a text file
> > > > is located. The other section of my spreadsheet (containing the necessary
> > > > formulae)
> > > > is devoted to running calculations on the newly imported data. It looks like
> > > > the calculations do not completely & automatically take place after the
> > > > fresh data
> > > > from the text file is imported.
> > > >
> > > > So I have to manually copy & paste the formulae throughout the calculation
> > > > section once again. At this point I get to my final destination of nice
> > > > clean fresh calculations.
> > > > I was hoping to solve this problem by hitting the "Refresh Current Page"
> > > > button; but looks like this simply loads the file all over again.
> > > >
> > > > * Is there a way to get my spreadsheet to re-run the calculations
> > > > immediately after I re-load fresh data ?
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > Thanks,
> > > > John.
> > > >
> > > >
> > > >

 
Reply With Quote
 
=?Utf-8?B?ZXhjZWxlbnQ=?=
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      2nd May 2007
hmm seems to be a tuff one :-)

maby this work around but please try on a copy :-)

Sub reCalc()
Range("A1", ActiveCell.SpecialCells(xlLastCell)).Select
On Error Resume Next
For Each cCell In Selection
cCell.Formula = cCell.Formula
Next
Range("A1").Select
End Sub


"Jason" skrev:

> Thanks, but
>
> F9 did not work
> ctrl+alt+F9 (and all permutations of ctrl/alt/shift with F9) did not work
> The macro solution also did not work
>
> :scratching head:
>
> --
> //Jason
>
>
> "excelent" wrote:
>
> > or maby:
> > Sub reCalc()
> > Application.CalculateFullRebuild
> > End Sub
> >
> >
> > "excelent" skrev:
> >
> > > try ctrl+alt+F9
> > >
> > >
> > > "Jason" skrev:
> > >
> > > > Funny - I was coming to the forums to search for a solution to this as well.
> > > > I can select the cell...and hit F2 and everything updates. My boss actually
> > > > asked the same question because he just noticed the same issue on one of his
> > > > spreadsheets (he asked me because I am the "office guru" *snort*)...so now I
> > > > am here.
> > > >
> > > > For the record....Excel 2003 (company will upgrade to 2007 when it "goes on
> > > > sale, I guess)...Win XP.
> > > >
> > > > Calculation is set for "Automatic"
> > > >
> > > > F9 or selection of "Calc Now" or "Calc Sheet" (under the
> > > > Options...Calculation menu) does not solve it.
> > > >
> > > > Anyone? Beuller?
> > > >
> > > > "JoJo" wrote:
> > > >
> > > > > Folks:
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > In my spreadsheet, I have a section in which imported data from a text file
> > > > > is located. The other section of my spreadsheet (containing the necessary
> > > > > formulae)
> > > > > is devoted to running calculations on the newly imported data. It looks like
> > > > > the calculations do not completely & automatically take place after the
> > > > > fresh data
> > > > > from the text file is imported.
> > > > >
> > > > > So I have to manually copy & paste the formulae throughout the calculation
> > > > > section once again. At this point I get to my final destination of nice
> > > > > clean fresh calculations.
> > > > > I was hoping to solve this problem by hitting the "Refresh Current Page"
> > > > > button; but looks like this simply loads the file all over again.
> > > > >
> > > > > * Is there a way to get my spreadsheet to re-run the calculations
> > > > > immediately after I re-load fresh data ?
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > Thanks,
> > > > > John.
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > >

 
Reply With Quote
 
=?Utf-8?B?SmFzb24=?=
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      2nd May 2007
w00t! - Jackpot!

Thanks a bunch - I will mod it to do sheet selection and all that...but I
cant get past the splinter in my eye about the formula being there and not
updating when it is just a simple formula. Its doing a count off of another
page that I am doing manipulation with. I am already doing macros on it...so
I can work it in...but it seems overkill to have to do that.

Is this an "undocumented software feature" that we just have to work around.
its the first time that I have run into it....

I almost feel like I have stolen the thread from JoJo >.<

thx
//Jason

"excelent" wrote:

> hmm seems to be a tuff one :-)
>
> maby this work around but please try on a copy :-)
>
> Sub reCalc()
> Range("A1", ActiveCell.SpecialCells(xlLastCell)).Select
> On Error Resume Next
> For Each cCell In Selection
> cCell.Formula = cCell.Formula
> Next
> Range("A1").Select
> End Sub
>
>
> "Jason" skrev:
>
> > Thanks, but
> >
> > F9 did not work
> > ctrl+alt+F9 (and all permutations of ctrl/alt/shift with F9) did not work
> > The macro solution also did not work
> >
> > :scratching head:
> >
> > --
> > //Jason
> >
> >
> > "excelent" wrote:
> >
> > > or maby:
> > > Sub reCalc()
> > > Application.CalculateFullRebuild
> > > End Sub
> > >
> > >
> > > "excelent" skrev:
> > >
> > > > try ctrl+alt+F9
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > "Jason" skrev:
> > > >
> > > > > Funny - I was coming to the forums to search for a solution to this as well.
> > > > > I can select the cell...and hit F2 and everything updates. My boss actually
> > > > > asked the same question because he just noticed the same issue on one of his
> > > > > spreadsheets (he asked me because I am the "office guru" *snort*)...so now I
> > > > > am here.
> > > > >
> > > > > For the record....Excel 2003 (company will upgrade to 2007 when it "goes on
> > > > > sale, I guess)...Win XP.
> > > > >
> > > > > Calculation is set for "Automatic"
> > > > >
> > > > > F9 or selection of "Calc Now" or "Calc Sheet" (under the
> > > > > Options...Calculation menu) does not solve it.
> > > > >
> > > > > Anyone? Beuller?
> > > > >
> > > > > "JoJo" wrote:
> > > > >
> > > > > > Folks:
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > > > In my spreadsheet, I have a section in which imported data from a text file
> > > > > > is located. The other section of my spreadsheet (containing the necessary
> > > > > > formulae)
> > > > > > is devoted to running calculations on the newly imported data. It looks like
> > > > > > the calculations do not completely & automatically take place after the
> > > > > > fresh data
> > > > > > from the text file is imported.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > So I have to manually copy & paste the formulae throughout the calculation
> > > > > > section once again. At this point I get to my final destination of nice
> > > > > > clean fresh calculations.
> > > > > > I was hoping to solve this problem by hitting the "Refresh Current Page"
> > > > > > button; but looks like this simply loads the file all over again.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > * Is there a way to get my spreadsheet to re-run the calculations
> > > > > > immediately after I re-load fresh data ?
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Thanks,
> > > > > > John.
> > > > > >
> > > > > >
> > > > > >

 
Reply With Quote
 
=?Utf-8?B?ZXhjZWxlbnQ=?=
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      2nd May 2007
he he yeah lets hope that will fix hees problem too lol

I newer ran in to that problem my self, but helped som other
folks with the calculationfullrebuild with luck

the "work around" is made just now to the occasions

regards p.m. (sry my French - Denmark u no :-))


"Jason" skrev:

> w00t! - Jackpot!
>
> Thanks a bunch - I will mod it to do sheet selection and all that...but I
> cant get past the splinter in my eye about the formula being there and not
> updating when it is just a simple formula. Its doing a count off of another
> page that I am doing manipulation with. I am already doing macros on it...so
> I can work it in...but it seems overkill to have to do that.
>
> Is this an "undocumented software feature" that we just have to work around.
> its the first time that I have run into it....
>
> I almost feel like I have stolen the thread from JoJo >.<
>
> thx
> //Jason
>
> "excelent" wrote:
>
> > hmm seems to be a tuff one :-)
> >
> > maby this work around but please try on a copy :-)
> >
> > Sub reCalc()
> > Range("A1", ActiveCell.SpecialCells(xlLastCell)).Select
> > On Error Resume Next
> > For Each cCell In Selection
> > cCell.Formula = cCell.Formula
> > Next
> > Range("A1").Select
> > End Sub
> >
> >
> > "Jason" skrev:
> >
> > > Thanks, but
> > >
> > > F9 did not work
> > > ctrl+alt+F9 (and all permutations of ctrl/alt/shift with F9) did not work
> > > The macro solution also did not work
> > >
> > > :scratching head:
> > >
> > > --
> > > //Jason
> > >
> > >
> > > "excelent" wrote:
> > >
> > > > or maby:
> > > > Sub reCalc()
> > > > Application.CalculateFullRebuild
> > > > End Sub
> > > >
> > > >
> > > > "excelent" skrev:
> > > >
> > > > > try ctrl+alt+F9
> > > > >
> > > > >
> > > > > "Jason" skrev:
> > > > >
> > > > > > Funny - I was coming to the forums to search for a solution to this as well.
> > > > > > I can select the cell...and hit F2 and everything updates. My boss actually
> > > > > > asked the same question because he just noticed the same issue on one of his
> > > > > > spreadsheets (he asked me because I am the "office guru" *snort*)...so now I
> > > > > > am here.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > For the record....Excel 2003 (company will upgrade to 2007 when it "goes on
> > > > > > sale, I guess)...Win XP.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Calculation is set for "Automatic"
> > > > > >
> > > > > > F9 or selection of "Calc Now" or "Calc Sheet" (under the
> > > > > > Options...Calculation menu) does not solve it.
> > > > > >
> > > > > > Anyone? Beuller?
> > > > > >
> > > > > > "JoJo" wrote:
> > > > > >
> > > > > > > Folks:
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > In my spreadsheet, I have a section in which imported data from a text file
> > > > > > > is located. The other section of my spreadsheet (containing the necessary
> > > > > > > formulae)
> > > > > > > is devoted to running calculations on the newly imported data. It looks like
> > > > > > > the calculations do not completely & automatically take place after the
> > > > > > > fresh data
> > > > > > > from the text file is imported.
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > So I have to manually copy & paste the formulae throughout the calculation
> > > > > > > section once again. At this point I get to my final destination of nice
> > > > > > > clean fresh calculations.
> > > > > > > I was hoping to solve this problem by hitting the "Refresh Current Page"
> > > > > > > button; but looks like this simply loads the file all over again.
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > * Is there a way to get my spreadsheet to re-run the calculations
> > > > > > > immediately after I re-load fresh data ?
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > > Thanks,
> > > > > > > John.
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > >
> > > > > > >

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:07 PM.