PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

processor question

 
 
Bacchus
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
Hi,

If I take the processor off my mobo will it still start up and will I see
something on the monitor?

Reason I ask is, I just changed my buddies mobo and I am still getting the
same thing. Nothing is coming up on the monitor. I bought a new PCI video
card as well.

Also, I noticed a few pins on my processor are bent. Will this screw
everything up?

thanks



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
DaveW
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
Do NOT start it without the CPU. You can do damage and you will prove
nothing.

--
DaveW



"Bacchus" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> Hi,
>
> If I take the processor off my mobo will it still start up and will I see
> something on the monitor?
>
> Reason I ask is, I just changed my buddies mobo and I am still getting the
> same thing. Nothing is coming up on the monitor. I bought a new PCI
> video
> card as well.
>
> Also, I noticed a few pins on my processor are bent. Will this screw
> everything up?
>
> thanks
>
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
kony
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
On Thu, 10 Mar 2005 16:03:41 -0800, "DaveW" <(E-Mail Removed)>
wrote:

>Do NOT start it without the CPU. You can do damage and you will prove
>nothing.


No, it will not do damage to power up a system without the
CPU in it... but obviously it won't POST or run, either.
 
Reply With Quote
 
kony
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
On Thu, 10 Mar 2005 18:35:33 -0500, "Bacchus"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>Hi,
>
>If I take the processor off my mobo will it still start up and will I see
>something on the monitor?


No. CPU is manditory to get the system to POST and/or run.

>
>Reason I ask is, I just changed my buddies mobo and I am still getting the
>same thing. Nothing is coming up on the monitor. I bought a new PCI video
>card as well.


You're talking about your ("my mobo") system above and now a
different one. Perhaps a more clear description of what's
going on would help, along with descriptions of the parts in
the system being focused on.

When you introduce more variables you can't even be sure you
don't then have multiple problems. It "could" be something
like the power supply failing, or it might've been the old
motherboard failed and you don't have the new one set up
right and/or it doens't support the CPU, etc, OR you might
now have all of the above problems in conjunction.... or
maybe not, you didn't provide any info on this as "changed
my buddies mobo" doesn't tell us the specifics, whether
you'd ever had that other mobo working at all.


>
>Also, I noticed a few pins on my processor are bent. Will this screw
>everything up?



Could be, depends on how bent. Are you sure you aren't
stuffing it in the board the wrong way? Try straightening
the pins, gently.

 
Reply With Quote
 
Bacchus
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005

> >Hi,
> >
> >If I take the processor off my mobo will it still start up and will I see
> >something on the monitor?

>
> No. CPU is manditory to get the system to POST and/or run.
>
> >
> >Reason I ask is, I just changed my buddies mobo and I am still getting

the
> >same thing. Nothing is coming up on the monitor. I bought a new PCI

video
> >card as well.

>
> You're talking about your ("my mobo") system above and now a
> different one. Perhaps a more clear description of what's
> going on would help, along with descriptions of the parts in
> the system being focused on.
>
> When you introduce more variables you can't even be sure you
> don't then have multiple problems. It "could" be something
> like the power supply failing, or it might've been the old
> motherboard failed and you don't have the new one set up
> right and/or it doens't support the CPU, etc, OR you might
> now have all of the above problems in conjunction.... or
> maybe not, you didn't provide any info on this as "changed
> my buddies mobo" doesn't tell us the specifics, whether
> you'd ever had that other mobo working at all.
>
>
> >
> >Also, I noticed a few pins on my processor are bent. Will this screw
> >everything up?

>
>
> Could be, depends on how bent. Are you sure you aren't
> stuffing it in the board the wrong way? Try straightening
> the pins, gently.










okay here's the scoop. I am getting no video on the monitor. The monitor
goes into countdown mode. System powers up but nothing is happening on the
monitor. The monitor is fine as it works on my system.

I thought it was the motherboard so I bought a new one that supports the
processor and I got a new tower with a brand new power supply. I set it up
and installed a PCI video card and I am getting the same thing. I tired
installing my video card from my system in the AGP slot and I still get the
same thing. The system boots up but I am seeing nothing.

Do I have to set a jumper on the motherboard to tell it to use the PCI slot
for video? I do not think that is the problem as, like I said the AGP card
did the same thing.

The mobo is new, the PCI card is new, the case and p/s is new. The only
thing I can think of is the processor is messed up, the RAM is bad or
something needs to be done to the hard-drive. I am lost at this point. I
hope somone here cab help me out.
















>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Kawosa
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
"Bacchus" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in
news:(E-Mail Removed):

>
>> >Hi,
>> >
>> >If I take the processor off my mobo will it still start up and will
>> >I see something on the monitor?

>>
>> No. CPU is manditory to get the system to POST and/or run.
>>
>> >
>> >Reason I ask is, I just changed my buddies mobo and I am still
>> >getting

> the
>> >same thing. Nothing is coming up on the monitor. I bought a new
>> >PCI

> video
>> >card as well.

>>
>> You're talking about your ("my mobo") system above and now a
>> different one. Perhaps a more clear description of what's
>> going on would help, along with descriptions of the parts in
>> the system being focused on.
>>
>> When you introduce more variables you can't even be sure you
>> don't then have multiple problems. It "could" be something
>> like the power supply failing, or it might've been the old
>> motherboard failed and you don't have the new one set up
>> right and/or it doens't support the CPU, etc, OR you might
>> now have all of the above problems in conjunction.... or
>> maybe not, you didn't provide any info on this as "changed
>> my buddies mobo" doesn't tell us the specifics, whether
>> you'd ever had that other mobo working at all.
>>
>>
>> >
>> >Also, I noticed a few pins on my processor are bent. Will this
>> >screw everything up?

>>
>>
>> Could be, depends on how bent. Are you sure you aren't
>> stuffing it in the board the wrong way? Try straightening
>> the pins, gently.

>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> okay here's the scoop. I am getting no video on the monitor. The
> monitor goes into countdown mode. System powers up but nothing is
> happening on the monitor. The monitor is fine as it works on my
> system.
>
> I thought it was the motherboard so I bought a new one that supports
> the processor and I got a new tower with a brand new power supply. I
> set it up and installed a PCI video card and I am getting the same
> thing. I tired installing my video card from my system in the AGP
> slot and I still get the same thing. The system boots up but I am
> seeing nothing.
>
> Do I have to set a jumper on the motherboard to tell it to use the PCI
> slot for video? I do not think that is the problem as, like I said
> the AGP card did the same thing.
>
> The mobo is new, the PCI card is new, the case and p/s is new. The
> only thing I can think of is the processor is messed up, the RAM is
> bad or something needs to be done to the hard-drive. I am lost at
> this point. I hope somone here cab help me out.
>


If the system boots up and you don't get beeps, I'd say the cpu and
memory are okay. Boot it with a floppy or CD. If still no display, go
back and check the simple stuff like monitor cable and input voltage.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Bacchus
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
I tried booting it with a floppy and cd and still nothing comes up on the
monitor. The monitor counts down and goes into power saver mode. I notice
though, when I take the monitor cable out of the PCI card, it says cable not
connected on the monitor. I imagine that means nothing though.

Could it be a bad RAM stick?

I am stumped.


--
Kevin Oye
Oye's Outlet
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Local: (416) 850-6972
Long Distance: 1-(800) 791-OYES (6937)
http://stores.ebay.ca/Oyes-Outlet
(E-Mail Removed)
"Kawosa" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:Xns9615C7F928BF9kawomailcoma@207.115.63.158...
> "Bacchus" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in
> news:(E-Mail Removed):
>
> >
> >> >Hi,
> >> >
> >> >If I take the processor off my mobo will it still start up and will
> >> >I see something on the monitor?
> >>
> >> No. CPU is manditory to get the system to POST and/or run.
> >>
> >> >
> >> >Reason I ask is, I just changed my buddies mobo and I am still
> >> >getting

> > the
> >> >same thing. Nothing is coming up on the monitor. I bought a new
> >> >PCI

> > video
> >> >card as well.
> >>
> >> You're talking about your ("my mobo") system above and now a
> >> different one. Perhaps a more clear description of what's
> >> going on would help, along with descriptions of the parts in
> >> the system being focused on.
> >>
> >> When you introduce more variables you can't even be sure you
> >> don't then have multiple problems. It "could" be something
> >> like the power supply failing, or it might've been the old
> >> motherboard failed and you don't have the new one set up
> >> right and/or it doens't support the CPU, etc, OR you might
> >> now have all of the above problems in conjunction.... or
> >> maybe not, you didn't provide any info on this as "changed
> >> my buddies mobo" doesn't tell us the specifics, whether
> >> you'd ever had that other mobo working at all.
> >>
> >>
> >> >
> >> >Also, I noticed a few pins on my processor are bent. Will this
> >> >screw everything up?
> >>
> >>
> >> Could be, depends on how bent. Are you sure you aren't
> >> stuffing it in the board the wrong way? Try straightening
> >> the pins, gently.

> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
> > okay here's the scoop. I am getting no video on the monitor. The
> > monitor goes into countdown mode. System powers up but nothing is
> > happening on the monitor. The monitor is fine as it works on my
> > system.
> >
> > I thought it was the motherboard so I bought a new one that supports
> > the processor and I got a new tower with a brand new power supply. I
> > set it up and installed a PCI video card and I am getting the same
> > thing. I tired installing my video card from my system in the AGP
> > slot and I still get the same thing. The system boots up but I am
> > seeing nothing.
> >
> > Do I have to set a jumper on the motherboard to tell it to use the PCI
> > slot for video? I do not think that is the problem as, like I said
> > the AGP card did the same thing.
> >
> > The mobo is new, the PCI card is new, the case and p/s is new. The
> > only thing I can think of is the processor is messed up, the RAM is
> > bad or something needs to be done to the hard-drive. I am lost at
> > this point. I hope somone here cab help me out.
> >

>
> If the system boots up and you don't get beeps, I'd say the cpu and
> memory are okay. Boot it with a floppy or CD. If still no display, go
> back and check the simple stuff like monitor cable and input voltage.



 
Reply With Quote
 
kony
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
On Thu, 10 Mar 2005 19:49:55 -0500, "Bacchus"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:


>okay here's the scoop. I am getting no video on the monitor. The monitor
>goes into countdown mode. System powers up but nothing is happening on the
>monitor. The monitor is fine as it works on my system.


To clarify, "system powers up" means only that the fans are
spinning, LEDs lit, and drives spinning, right? In other
words, it does not appear that the system is booting to the
operating system at all?

If so, it is the typical failure-to-post situation, which
can be caused by any number of things. Normally swapping in
different parts is a way to troubleshoot bits that can't be
troubleshot otherwise, but there are things that can be
checked (at least rudimentarily) without system running,
like the power supply.

If you have a multimeter, take voltage readings. Even
though the power supply is "brand new", that does not mean
it's suitable for the system. Many came-free-with-case
power supplies are overrated and quite poor. If you had a
spare, known-good power supply of ample capacity you might
try that.


>
>I thought it was the motherboard so I bought a new one that supports the
>processor and I got a new tower with a brand new power supply. I set it up
>and installed a PCI video card and I am getting the same thing. I tired
>installing my video card from my system in the AGP slot and I still get the
>same thing. The system boots up but I am seeing nothing.


Ah, so it does boot up. Does it have integrated video?
Does it still have the AGP video card in it? IF the only
card in it is PCI AND it doesn't have integrated video, you
usually don't need to change anything because the bios
defaults to the only video adapter present. On some older
boards there was need to set a jumper, if in doubt then
check the motherboard manual.


>
>Do I have to set a jumper on the motherboard to tell it to use the PCI slot
>for video? I do not think that is the problem as, like I said the AGP card
>did the same thing.



See above

>
>The mobo is new, the PCI card is new, the case and p/s is new. The only
>thing I can think of is the processor is messed up, the RAM is bad or
>something needs to be done to the hard-drive. I am lost at this point. I
>hope somone here cab help me out.
>


you wrote that it boots up, so the memory and CPU should not
be a problem. Perhaps the motherboard is misaligned in the
case so any cards installed, won't make good contact in the
slot? On "some" boards, it can help to clear the CMOS after
changing the video card.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Processor vs. Pentium 4 Processor Patti Windows XP General 18 29th Aug 2004 08:51 PM
upgrade from uni processor to multi processor on xp =?Utf-8?B?aGF3aw==?= Windows XP Help 0 19th Jun 2004 06:45 AM
i want to upgrade from a 2.0 processor to a 2.40 processor. Terry Windows XP Hardware 6 28th Mar 2004 08:41 PM
Single processor reported as dual processor =?Utf-8?B?bW5za2k=?= Windows XP Help 1 20th Jan 2004 04:13 PM
Need help on; Upgrading from a Celeron Processor to a P4 Processor William Foote Windows XP Hardware 4 9th Sep 2003 03:20 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:28 PM.