Chris,
I would work with that vendor to make sure. If they do not believe they are
installing spyware, then they need to fill out a dispute form located at
http://www.spynet.com/vendors.aspx
-steve
Steve Dodson [MSFT]
MCSE, CISSP
PSS Security
--
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
Use of included script samples are subject to the terms specified at
http://www.microsoft.com/info/cpyright.htm
Note: For the benefit of the community-at-large, all responses to this
message are best directed to the newsgroup/thread from which they
originated.
--------------------
>From: "Chris R. Speaker" <(E-Mail Removed)>
>Subject: NetSlayer RAT (flshtray.ocx)
>Date: Mon, 24 Jan 2005 19:21:12 -0500
>Lines: 11
>X-Priority: 3
>X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
>X-Newsreader: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.2527
>X-MIMEOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2527
>X-RFC2646: Format=Flowed; Original
>Message-ID: <(E-Mail Removed)>
>Newsgroups: microsoft.private.security.spyware.signatures
>NNTP-Posting-Host: ACC83907.ipt.aol.com 172.200.57.7
>Path:
cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl!cpmsftngsa06.privatenews.microsoft.com!CPMSFTNGSA04.pri
vatenews.microsoft.com
>Xref: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl
microsoft.private.security.spyware.signatures:627
>X-Tomcat-NG: microsoft.private.security.spyware.signatures
>
>Hello everyone,
>
> I have a question about a possible false positive. A while ago I
>downloaded and used a freeware ActiveX control call TrayIcon V1.00
>(flshtray.ocx). MS antispyware is detecting this as the Netslayer RAT.
Does
>anyone have any information about this activeX control as regards to it
>being a Trojan/spyware file? It seems to be a pretty widely used control
so
>I assumed it was safe (thankfully I'm no longer using it anyway it but I'd
>still like to know). Thanks for any information.
>
>
>