PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average.

Error 1327.Invalid Drive: E:\

 
 
Steve T.
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      1st Mar 2005
I am trying to load the Anti SW Beta on an IBM X40 laptop
running XP SP2. As I run the installer, I am gatting an
error message that says Error 1327.Invalid Drive: E:\
Any ideas on what is causing this an how I might fix it ?
Cheers
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Phil Scotford
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      4th Mar 2005
Use the subst command at a dos prompt

ie subst E: C:\DOWNLOADED FILE DIRECTORY

not elegant but it works

>-----Original Message-----
>I am trying to load the Anti SW Beta on an IBM X40

laptop
>running XP SP2. As I run the installer, I am gatting an
>error message that says Error 1327.Invalid Drive: E:\
>Any ideas on what is causing this an how I might fix it ?
>Cheers
>.
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
 
      9th May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve T.
I am trying to load the Anti SW Beta on an IBM X40 laptop
running XP SP2. As I run the installer, I am gatting an
error message that says Error 1327.Invalid Drive: E:\
Any ideas on what is causing this an how I might fix it ?
Cheers
i read the solution wich was given by users but i would like to know if your problem is fixed
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
 
      19th Jul 2006
i tried the dos suggestion and it didn't work at first - but i changed it

subst E: C:\

and it worked

i don't know about the "ie" and all the rest of that jazz. thanks.
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
 
      19th Oct 2006
Specifying 'E:' as a virtual drive to which to assign a path (C:\) will work, but this is only a temporary solution as you don't want to keep the virtual drive permanently and as soon as you remove it the problem will return.



It is highly likely that the problem is due to your registry keys in your user account going bananas (somehow the key has 'jumped' to the non-existant E: drive instead of the C: drive). To fix the problem, run 'regedit' and browse through your subfolders until you find something along the lines of (will depend on what OS you're running as to the exact path name):

My_Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell_Folders

And check that all of the shell folder paths start with 'C:' or whatever your usual harddrive is. If any start with E: (or whatever letter is coming up as your error), then change this to C:. Also go to 'User_Shell_Folders' and make sure that it is changed to C: there as well.
This ought to give you a permanent solution.

(note, if you want to check that the problem IS only specific to your particular user account, try logging on under a different administrator account or if you don't have another admin account then you can even create a new admin account and log on under this - the invalid drive error shouldn't occur with this account. If it does, then the problem isn't user specific. You may then need to browse through some of your other registry keys to see where things have gone wrong).

Last edited by Laura Brooks; 24th Oct 2006 at 02:45 AM..
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6
 
      29th Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laura Brooks
Specifying 'E:' as a virtual drive to which to assign a path (C:\) will work, but this is only a temporary solution as you don't want to keep the virtual drive permanently and as soon as you remove it the problem will return.



It is highly likely that the problem is due to your registry keys in your user account going bananas (somehow the key has 'jumped' to the non-existant E: drive instead of the C: drive). To fix the problem, run 'regedit' and browse through your subfolders until you find something along the lines of (will depend on what OS you're running as to the exact path name):

My_Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Shell_Folders

And check that all of the shell folder paths start with 'C:' or whatever your usual harddrive is. If any start with E: (or whatever letter is coming up as your error), then change this to C:. Also go to 'User_Shell_Folders' and make sure that it is changed to C: there as well.
This ought to give you a permanent solution.

(note, if you want to check that the problem IS only specific to your particular user account, try logging on under a different administrator account or if you don't have another admin account then you can even create a new admin account and log on under this - the invalid drive error shouldn't occur with this account. If it does, then the problem isn't user specific. You may then need to browse through some of your other registry keys to see where things have gone wrong).

i had that problem of the "error bla bla E:" when trying to install some programs so i came to this post and did what you said, i went to regedit and in 'User_Shell_Folders' everything was like this example: mis pictures and then in data %USERACCOUNT%\my pictures well actually i dont remember if it was "useraccount" or something else but the case is that i changed everything it and in the place of %useraccounts% y put C: so it would be like:
my music C:\my music and so on and then i reseted the computer and i went to my documents and it was all empty so i went to search windowds and now all my documents are in C:\documents and settings\conchi\treblinka documents , "conchi" is the name of the person that had the computer before , i got it second hand, so what is it all? i already noticed when i bought the computer that i couldnt get rid of that folder or change the name even thought i deleted all the user accounts, what can i do so all my documents come back to the normal place and to get rid of that stupid "conchi" named folder

Last edited by treblinka; 29th Nov 2006 at 02:06 AM..
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
 
      17th Dec 2006
I have been experiencing this problem as well. I've tried all of the suggestions in this thread and I still have this error message when trying to install programs. I also purchased a program that promised to repair my registry. They promised that their program would specifically repair the problem causing the Error 1327 invalid Drive E: message. I still haven't found the solution. Any advice?
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
 
      26th Jan 2008
Awesome, you solved my week old problem...Thanks
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
 
      14th Feb 2008
Thanx JoyinAlaska...Ur solution worked for me 2
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
 
      12th Jul 2008
Ok All....I was getting the following error message when trying to install software for an HP All in One L7780....

Fatal error



Invalid Drive E:\



Please go to http://www.hp.com/support for troubleshooting information about “Fatal Error” and “MSI.networkdevicemanager01”



I spent over 5 hours on the support chat with HP. They told me to do many different things....all things not working. They even asked me to correct value data for the registry key....this suggestion has been mentioned on this thread...


Well I think I found the simple fix....
I frequently use a flashdrive and when I do, it assigns the drive as DRIVE E.

So I tried to install the software with the flashdrive inserted in the USB port and BINGO! It worked like a charm.

If you have a similar issue...try this first. It might be the easiest fix.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error! Error! IE Error! Helpless Windows XP Internet Explorer 1 7th Mar 2004 04:52 PM
Error message NSAPI Internal Error Error Code = 100 Kevin @ kwinters54@yahoo.com Windows XP Internet Explorer 0 5th Feb 2004 10:59 PM
Error, Error, Error. JohnMc Windows XP Basics 0 22nd Dec 2003 12:22 AM
A runtime error has occured. Do you want to debug? Line: 1 Error: syntax error Eric Windows XP Networking 0 24th Nov 2003 04:45 PM
IE 6 RunTime error / Line: 335 / Error: Unspecified Error kwloch Windows XP Internet Explorer 0 27th Sep 2003 02:30 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:45 AM.