"VanguardLH" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>
> NOTE: The following unrelated newsgroup was omitted in my reply:
> microsoft.public.security.virus
>
> rover is eBay's advertising server host. So check if you have it listed
> in your MVP hosts file. I don't use the hosts file to block "bad" sites
> because the hostname must be specified, and any site can change the name
> of their host or even make it accept any hostname. For DoubleClick
> alone, the MVP hosts file have over 50 entries just because there are so
> many of them used by DoubleClick, and more are to follow.
>
> I didn't see a "[*.]rover.*" entry in the MVPS hosts file that I looked
> at. So maybe some other software you have is blocking that host. You
> didn't provide the complete URL. It might be that it has some
> substring, like /ads/, that gets blocked by an ad-block program or
> ad-block feature within a program. IE7Pro, for example amongst MANY,
> has a preset list of URL substrings on which to block to get rid of ads.
>
> I wouldn't rely on any anti-phish toolbar or filter to accuracy announce
> that I visited such a site. Those spoof sites disappear in under 4
> hours so the phish lists are always too old. They used to stick around
> 2 to 4 days but with all the reporting going on that has been severely
> reduced. Sounds good that they disappear but the phishers already know
> their spoof site is short-lived and already have a pool of others to
> utilize. Once they spew their spam, they have just a few hours for it
> to survive along with any site referenced within it. For every phish
> site that I've ever run across, heard about, or checked in the various
> phish lists below, the sites are already dead. Sometimes I've managed
> to see a report and visited that site within an hour of that report and
> the site is gone (because the report is often not immediate to when the
> spam attack started that tried to lure users to their new phish site).
>
> http://www.phishtank.com/
> http://www.antiphishing.org/
> http://www.millersmiles.co.uk/
>
> It's a good bet that it is something on your end doing the blocking to
> eBay's rover host.
Thanks for your response.
I don't have any trouble using ebay so long as I type ebay's address
straight into IE7's URL slot. For a long time, because I'm naturally lazy,
I could just click on the ebay icon on the ebay toolbar. Tonight, ...ahem,
....last night, when I did that, IE7's status bar was coughing up a long URL
with
http://www.rover.ebay* ...not sure if the www was in there, ...some
script of some sort I think, and further along -
www.ebay.co.uk. ...can't
ever remember noticing that before now. Am not seeing anything like that
no.
anyhooo, I uninstalled ebay Toolbar, ...agreed - false sense of security !
....but every little helps.
regards, Richard