From: "Jungle Jim" <(E-Mail Removed)>
| On 10/09/2010 8:36 PM, David H. Lipman wrote:
>> From: "Jungle Jim"<(E-Mail Removed)>
>> | Hi guys,
>> | I just came back from work and went to power up my laptop - on powering
>> | it up and logging on, my antivirus (AVG Free) pops up a message telling
>> | me I have an infection (Crack.BU). I recently installed and paid for a
>> | license for Adobe Photoshop CS5 so I'm wondering if this is a false
>> | positive or am I really infected with a crack program?
>> | Thanks,
>> | Jungle Jim
>> | System specs:
>> | Brand/Model: Dell Latitude D610
>> OS:: Windows XP SP3
>> | Antivirus: AVG Free 9.0
>> | CPU speed: 1.73 GHz
>> Providing notebook specifications is worthless. That is NOT the kind of information
>> that
>> is required.
>> What is required is the fully qualified name and path to the file that is deemed to be
>> "Crack.BU".
| My AV claims the infection is in C:\Program
| Files\Adobe...\Photoshop\Photoshop.exe (where Adobe... is your Adobe
| suite (Master Collection etc). I can't double click on the Photoshop
| shortcut on my desktop without AVG popping up the message and the
| shortcut looks like a default application icon.
| Kind of weird as I haven't had any infections before.
| Jungle Jim
Look at the properties of the PhotoShop ShortCut.
Please submit a sample of what the shortcut leads to, to Virus Total --
http://www.virustotal.com/flash/index_en.html
The submission will then be tested against many different AV vendor's scanners.
That will give you an idea what it is and who recognizes it. In addition Virus
Total will provide the sample to all participating vendors.
You can also submit a suspect, one at a time, via the following email URL...
private.php?do=newpm&u=?subject=SCAN
When you get the report, please post back the exact results.
--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
Multi-AV -
http://www.pctipp.ch/downloads/dl/35905.asp