PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

Compatibility with Norton

 
 
Nancy
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
through Norton about malicious script detected
Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the antivirus
software?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Bill Sanderson
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from Norton Antivirus, and
I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware. However, I don't know
that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use BackWeb as a support
mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-secure, among others.
I did find some google discussion of this particular executable, but none in
languages that I read well enough to find the hits helpful.

--
FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm

"Nancy" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$(E-Mail Removed)...
> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
> through Norton about malicious script detected
> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the antivirus
> software?



 
Reply With Quote
 
Ron Chamberlin
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
Hi Nancy,
Not sure if you meant backweb perhaps rather than blackweb? If it's
backweb, I'll agree with Bill's advice.

Ron Chamberlin
MS-MVP

"Nancy" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$(E-Mail Removed)...
> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
> through Norton about malicious script detected
> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the antivirus
> software?
>




 
Reply With Quote
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005

>-----Original Message-----
>I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from

Norton Antivirus, and
>I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware.

However, I don't know
>that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use

BackWeb as a support
>mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-

secure, among others.
>I did find some google discussion of this particular

executable, but none in
>languages that I read well enough to find the hits

helpful.
>
>--
>FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
>http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm
>
>"Nancy" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in

message
>news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$(E-Mail Removed)...
>> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
>> through Norton about malicious script detected
>> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the

antivirus
>> software?

>
>
>.
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
I've also BACKWEB on my PC from Packard Bell. PB uses it
for information-channels conderning Packard Bell products.
It is beeing used as extra software to enhance surfing. In
this case it's a legal use of backwebsoftware and Norton
alerts the user when this software becoms active! Jan vdn
Eeden - The Netherlands -
>-----Original Message-----
>I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from

Norton Antivirus, and
>I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware.

However, I don't know
>that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use

BackWeb as a support
>mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-

secure, among others.
>I did find some google discussion of this particular

executable, but none in
>languages that I read well enough to find the hits

helpful.
>
>--
>FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
>http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm
>
>"Nancy" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in

message
>news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$(E-Mail Removed)...
>> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
>> through Norton about malicious script detected
>> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the

antivirus
>> software?

>
>
>.
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
I've also BACKWEB on my PC from Packard Bell. PB uses it
for information-channels conderning Packard Bell products.
It is beeing used as extra software to enhance surfing. In
this case it's a legal use of backwebsoftware and Norton
alerts the user when this software becoms active! Jan vdn
Eeden - The Netherlands -
>-----Original Message-----
>I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from

Norton Antivirus, and
>I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware.

However, I don't know
>that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use

BackWeb as a support
>mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-

secure, among others.
>I did find some google discussion of this particular

executable, but none in
>languages that I read well enough to find the hits

helpful.
>
>--
>FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
>http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm
>
>"Nancy" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in

message
>news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$(E-Mail Removed)...
>> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
>> through Norton about malicious script detected
>> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the

antivirus
>> software?

>
>
>.
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Bill Sanderson
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11th Mar 2005
Thanks!
--
FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm

<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:5cbc01c52634$fb2b7010$(E-Mail Removed)...
> I've also BACKWEB on my PC from Packard Bell. PB uses it
> for information-channels conderning Packard Bell products.
> It is beeing used as extra software to enhance surfing. In
> this case it's a legal use of backwebsoftware and Norton
> alerts the user when this software becoms active! Jan vdn
> Eeden - The Netherlands -
>>-----Original Message-----
>>I'm not sure what this is. I don't believe it is from

> Norton Antivirus, and
>>I know that it is not from Microsoft Antispyware.

> However, I don't know
>>that it is malicious. A number of software vendors use

> BackWeb as a support
>>mechanism--I believe they include Logitech, HP, and F-

> secure, among others.
>>I did find some google discussion of this particular

> executable, but none in
>>languages that I read well enough to find the hits

> helpful.
>>
>>--
>>FAQ for Microsoft Antispyware:
>>http://www.geocities.com/marfer_mvp/FAQ_MSantispy.htm
>>
>>"Nancy" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in

> message
>>news:5a8401c525d7$93dc6ca0$(E-Mail Removed)...
>>> When the Antispware runs there is an alert that comes up
>>> through Norton about malicious script detected
>>> Blackweb8876480.exe. Is this a script from the

> antivirus
>>> software?

>>
>>
>>.
>>



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows defender and Norton compatibility =?Utf-8?B?anVsZXM=?= Spyware Discussion 5 24th Jul 2006 03:49 AM
Norton IS 2005 compatibility =?Utf-8?B?Q3Jpcw==?= Windows XP Help 3 29th May 2005 04:32 PM
Antispy/Norton 2003 Compatibility Tom Spyware Application Compatibility 1 18th Mar 2005 08:34 PM
Antispy/Norton 2003 Compatibility Spyware Application Compatibility 0 16th Mar 2005 02:41 AM
Norton compatibility Rory Windows XP Security 2 4th Oct 2004 10:15 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:08 PM.