PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

Can desktop act as "wireless" router?

 
 
me@privacy.net
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      7th Feb 2011
Rather than buying a stand alone wireless router....can
a person just configure his desktop with wireless card
to ACT as a wireless "router" and save some desk space
if short on space?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
me@privacy.net
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      7th Feb 2011
Grinder <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>Hardly seems worth the effort when you can get a small wireless router
>for $25 that need not sit on top of your desk in order to do the job.


Live in a one room apartment.... very cramped for
space!
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
me@privacy.net
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      8th Feb 2011
Grinder <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>Do you have a drop ceiling? Put it up there, or on top of a bookshelf,
>or under the desk?


I live in a VERY small one room efficiency apartment
and trying to keep clutter down (extra wires, devices,
etc). I am graduate student as well so cost is issue
too

I don't have a desktop at the moment but thinking of
buying one and using it as a wireless router for my
laptop as well....

so the desktop would have a direct WIRED connection
from the cable company INTO the unit.... and the relay
wireless signals to/fro my laptop via the wireless card
IN the desktop....yes?

The desktop would be leaved ON all the time and act as
an "entertainment" center for me.... music, iTunes,
netflix ....as well as having more horsepower for some
of the app's that don't run well on my laptop

I just didn't want to buy a stand alone router if not
needed...just more clutter for me

but I may be missing something.... is using a desktop
in this manner just as good as any stand alone wireless
router... or do the routers have some advantage I'm not
seeing given my example above?
 
Reply With Quote
 
VanguardLH
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      8th Feb 2011
(E-Mail Removed) wrote:

> Rather than buying a stand alone wireless router....can
> a person just configure his desktop with wireless card
> to ACT as a wireless "router" and save some desk space
> if short on space?


Are we to guess what operating system you intend to use on your desktop
(which you don't have yet despite claiming to be a poor student)?

What are your qualifications for consuming space for a desktop when your
only need is wifi access for your laptop?

You could use your desktop and its unidentified OS to run as a gateway
but you'll need 2 NICS: one for your intranet and one to the Internet.
Of course, now you'll up the cost of getting 2 NICs (one wifi and one
connected to your unidentified Internet service type) along with the
entire cost of a desktop when a wifi router would have been so much
cheaper.

Why are you getting the desktop (which you don't have yet)? Since it
will occupy space, why not get a wifi router that sits right atop the
desktop's case? If you have room for the desktop then it's likely you
have room for a router. If you're that tight, put the router under your
bed (but make sure it has breathing room to ventilate away the heated
air since routers don't have fans for cooling and rely on convection).
If you have a desk (on which the desktop will sit atop or underneath),
just get some self-stick velcro strips and stick the router on the side
of your desk or underneath on the privacy panel (in front of your feet).
 
Reply With Quote
 
me@privacy.net
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      8th Feb 2011
John <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>You can buy a cable modem that will also broadcast WIFI from the cable
>company.


That might be a solution..
 
Reply With Quote
 
me@privacy.net
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      8th Feb 2011
Grinder <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>At a minimum, having a standalone router would eliminate the need for
>the desktop to be always up, making heat and noise, just for your net
>connection. I see that you intend run that PC 24-7 anyhow, but having a
>small, dedicated device seems to be very efficient.
>
>Also, I'm not sure how many connections you can have through a single
>wireless card on the PC. The router can have many connections as you
>would ever need. If you want a third device on the network, you'll have
>to do more setup to make that happen, if it's even possible.


well I did NOT say it was a good idea.... only hat it
was something I wanted to "consider"

It now sounds like a good wireless router makes better
sense

given that... WHICH wireless router to buy for
streaming Netflix and such?
 
Reply With Quote
 
Mike Easter
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      8th Feb 2011
(E-Mail Removed) wrote:
> Rather than buying a stand alone wireless router....can
> a person just configure his desktop with wireless card
> to ACT as a wireless "router" and save some desk space
> if short on space?


I understand your current resources to consist of -1- cable modem
presumably with ethernet connectivity -2- laptop with ethernet and
wireless capability both -3- a small living area as well as little
desktop space

You are considering adding a desktop to the mix and so you need a local
network which you would like to be wireless and wired.

'Everyone' does that by acquiring a wired/wireless router to connect
that to the cable modem's ethernet. Doing it some other way is not
sensible/practical.

Depending on how things are laid out, the location of the cable modem is
typically close to where the cable comes into the residence, and the
location of the router is often close to the cable modem, but it doesn't
have to be that way. You can have lots of cable distance and sufficient
ethernet distance to position things how you like.

The benefits of the small little router are that it is an economical way
to have a lot of different functionality in a single unit which doesn't
use much juice and is typically left on all the time.

--
Mike Easter
 
Reply With Quote
 
me@privacy.net
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      8th Feb 2011
John <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

>You can buy a cable modem that will also broadcast WIFI from the cable
>company


Are these combo "cable modems" and "routers a good
idea?

Or still best to have separate units?
 
Reply With Quote
 
John Doe
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      8th Feb 2011
me privacy.net wrote:

> John <John nowhere.com> wrote:
>
>>You can buy a cable modem that will also broadcast WIFI from the
>>cable company

>
> Are these combo "cable modems" and "routers a good idea?


My 2-Wire HomePortal 1000 has worked well for many years, as a DSL
modem and home WiFi in one. Unless you see lots of negativity, I
would assume the combination works well. Read reviews. And
especially if you are easily confused, the combo might be less of
a hassle.

If I were still confused, I would ask in a cable modem group,
either on UseNet or on the web. Typical cable modem users would be
the most knowledgeable about which equipment works well.

Good luck and have fun.
--



















>
> Or still best to have separate units?
>


> Path: news.astraweb.com!border6.newsrouter.astraweb.com!

news.glorb.com!news2.glorb.com!fu-berlin.de!uni-berlin.de!
individual.net!not-for-mail
> From: me privacy.net
> Newsgroups: alt.comp.hardware.pc-homebuilt
> Subject: Re: Can desktop act as "wireless" router?
> Date: Tue, 08 Feb 2011 13:54:00 -0600
> Lines: 9
> Message-ID: <sp73l6h1sh4u3oajc8j9akgg6icj73eeiq 4ax.com>
> References: <bno0l619ulhkonvi3u540dhnukjsp8g4pa 4ax.com>

<jLmdnZurW5SR9s3QnZ2dnUVZ_uednZ2d mchsi.com>
<kdt0l6lqb8vr08jvk0jcch6anbeg92el6a 4ax.com>
<E82dnRPB47Q45s3QnZ2dnUVZ_jydnZ2d mchsi.com>
<3hv0l61qijmu46pvh60hn1avqbd7dp4iid 4ax.com> <cu04p.57$7i4.41
news.usenetserver.com>
> Mime-Version: 1.0
> Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
> Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
> X-Trace: individual.net

S3LPzkZit6tvYYZw2siivgzISbkG5pIU3Zr/od7HIlUuGTgMND
> Cancel-Lock: sha1:OdIMhYmU+BHjZsd87Z9aVYEYQw4=
> X-Newsreader: Forte Agent 2.0/32.652
>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Krypsis
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      12th Feb 2011
On 9/02/2011 6:54 AM, (E-Mail Removed) wrote:
> John<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>
>> You can buy a cable modem that will also broadcast WIFI from the cable
>> company

>
> Are these combo "cable modems" and "routers a good
> idea?
>
> Or still best to have separate units?


I prefer to have separate units. Until recently, my cable company
supplied modem was doing a reasonable job and had been for something in
the order of 10 years. They recently did some cable network upgrades and
sent me a new modem gratis. So, in a dozen years, I've had 2 modems and
6 routers. 4 of the routers have been wireless, the first couple were not.
Had I opted for the modem router combo, my upgrades would have entailed
ditching the lot each time. I am soon to upgrade to a new router and it
will need to be wireless N capable and have Gigabit as well. The modem
will remain undisturbed during this upgrade and will probably be in my
service 10 years hence.

Krypsis

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACT 6 import - Act Calls =?Utf-8?B?Qm9iIFBhdHRlcnNvbg==?= Microsoft Outlook BCM 3 14th May 2007 06:18 AM
'Attach to ACT! contact(s)' error msg to run ACT at least once... =?Utf-8?B?U3V6YQ==?= Microsoft Outlook Discussion 1 15th Aug 2006 07:02 PM
Re: Migration from ACT 8.0 or ACT 2005 to Business Contact Mgr 200 =?Utf-8?B?Q2h1Y2sgSA==?= Microsoft Outlook BCM 0 20th Mar 2006 07:29 PM
Contacts importing from ACT - Help refers to ACT but isnt in my v. =?Utf-8?B?Q3J5c3RhbA==?= Microsoft Outlook BCM 1 28th Jun 2005 05:49 PM
Act! - How to save sent emails to Act ! Records CJ McClanahn Microsoft Outlook 0 15th Nov 2003 04:49 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:28 PM.