PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

CameraCaptureDialog in Motorola ES400 WM 6.5

 
 
New Member
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
 
      28th Sep 2010
Hi Guys,

I'm testing my app in WM6.5 and when i use CameraCaptureDialog the camera open but stay behind my application, i can see the title and its open bur behind my app. I a create another app with a form to call them and its works fine.

Any suggestion?

Im going crazy...

Thanks
A.Rocha

PS: sorry for my english...
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
 
      23rd Oct 2010
I'm having exactly the same issue with an ES400.
The CameraCaptureDialog call results in a "hidden" camera window.
Did you ever solve this?
Regards
Derek
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
 
      24th Oct 2010
I'm having the same issue. It goes a little further though. Even though the dialog shows behind my app I can still press the camera button on the side of the phone to take a picture. Then press the Ok button and it's supposedly saving. The dialog returns DialogResult.Ok but there is no image saved.
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
 
      24th Oct 2010
Yes I've seen exactly the same thing. In my case I've discovered that the issue is interconnected with SQL CE. If I disable database access the issue does not occur. Also it seems to be related to a parent form calling a child form which then displays the CameraCaptureDialog.

Frustratingly I can't reproduce the issue in a simple test project! If I move enough of my "real" project to the "test" though I eventually get the error.

It only happens on the ES400; the same code works flawlessly on the MC55 and has been working for months.

This issue seems to be related to this one reported here:
http://forum.soft32.com/pda/Managed-...pict61805.html

You may want to check out Alex's page:
http://alexmogurenko.com/blog/directshownetcf/

He's very prompt with questions I've sent him.
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
 
      11th Nov 2010
I've found that the ultimate cause of this issue is how much memory an application is consuming when it tries to display the camera capture dialog. The ES400 ships with a custom camera capture dialog that's a memory hog compared to the standard dialog that most other devices use. I've found that if my application is consuming more than 10MB when I try to display the dialog, it's going to fail in the weird way you've all described.

To revert back to the standard camera dialog, delete or rename the "OEMCameraCaptureDLL" value under the following registry key:
Code:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\Pictures\Camera\OEM]
"OEMCAMERACAPTUREDLL"  <-- Delete!
Optionally, if you also want to revert the program that gets launched when you select Camera and Pictures and Videos on the device, set the following registry value:

Code:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\Pictures\Camera\OEM]
  "CameraApp"="\windows\pimg.exe"
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
 
      20th May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckarcher View Post
I've found that the ultimate cause of this issue is how much memory an application is consuming when it tries to display the camera capture dialog. The ES400 ships with a custom camera capture dialog that's a memory hog compared to the standard dialog that most other devices use. I've found that if my application is consuming more than 10MB when I try to display the dialog, it's going to fail in the weird way you've all described.

To revert back to the standard camera dialog, delete or rename the "OEMCameraCaptureDLL" value under the following registry key:
Code:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\Pictures\Camera\OEM]
"OEMCAMERACAPTUREDLL"  <-- Delete!
Optionally, if you also want to revert the program that gets launched when you select Camera and Pictures and Videos on the device, set the following registry value:

Code:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\Pictures\Camera\OEM]
  "CameraApp"="\windows\pimg.exe"
Hi ckarcher, that's perfect, you shot the target.
Motorola ES400 OEMCameraCaptureDll has memory problem, so your instructions were really usefull

But now that standard camera dialog appears the problem is to control it. I mean to turno on or off the flash, to turn on off the autofocus, to change dimensions and resolution.
How can i do theese operations? Must I change some registry keys?

Thanks for every help, bye
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
 
      23rd May 2011
Ok, i found everything i need on registry, but AUTOFOCUS ENABLE/DISABLE parameter

Some idea?
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
 
      26th Jul 2011
Hi ckarcher,

Thank you very much for your post. My 2 days fight went over.

Joy...
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1
 
      30th Aug 2011
Hi,

For reasons too complex to develop here, I need to reproduce this bug on my phone (I know there is an application that triggers this bug on my phone, but I can acces neither its executable nor its source code). Anyway, I need to reproduce this bug so that I can experiment ways to fix it (yes, i know, it sounds like ).

I tried to build a test app that allocates approximately 16Mb of memory, I tried to create a sql connection and keeping it open, but whatever I do, the cameracapturedialog is just working fine here... (as DerekM mentioned, it seems difficult to reproduce this issue on a simple project)

Would anybody here be kind enough to share a piece of code that triggers that cameracapturedialog misbehaviour please ?

Thanks in advance.
 
Reply With Quote
 
New Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
 
      14th Nov 2011
Thanks.

That solution works for me, but still facing some issues with ES400 camera on using "windows/pimg.exe".
It displays the camera preview window with OK and Cancel buttons . However, pressing OK or the hardware camera button does not actually take a picture-- both display an error message that the picture couldn't be captured and to try again later. The user must press the "return" key on the hardware keyboard to take the picture, then press OK.

Please let me know if somebody face the same issue and resolved.

Last edited by Vinaytheone; 14th Nov 2011 at 07:46 PM..
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motorola Razr V3c and Build 6000 Don't Mix (Recently Got a Cell Phone Virus while trying to set up Motorola Phone Tools 4.0) Kevin John Panzke Windows Vista General Discussion 9 10th Dec 2006 09:21 PM
CameraCaptureDialog Jack TREVES Microsoft Dot NET Compact Framework 5 15th Nov 2006 05:02 PM
How to close Camera app after opening it using CameraCaptureDialog Heather B. Microsoft Dot NET Compact Framework 3 15th Apr 2006 06:35 PM
InvalidOperation on CameraCaptureDialog.ShowDialog Lisurc Microsoft Dot NET Compact Framework 4 10th Feb 2006 05:10 PM
CameraCaptureDialog in portrait mode? casey chesnut Microsoft Dot NET Compact Framework 2 19th Nov 2005 09:08 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:55 PM.