PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

BT Minimum calls fee ... huh!

 
 
Captain Crunchie, Retired
muckshifter's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In a Hovel
Posts: 22,239
 
      21st May 2012
So, for the first time ever, I get conned by BT. OK, maybe not the first time, but this one takes the biscuit.

Quote:
The minimum calls have not been made. To avoid future charges, make 2
chargeable or inclusive calls per month or more with BT ... charged 2.70
huh! pass that by me again will you. If I don't use the phone, I get charged extra. Listen pal, go take a running jump.

I don't need, or even want, the phone anyway, however, con number one is, you "need" a BT landmine (sic) or they won't give you broadband. This applies to a few other broadband suppliers also. That one really baffles me.

I have "spoken" to the nice Indian gentleman who agreed with me that this "charge" was a bit silly and assured me I will be credited on my next bill. I'm not going to hold my breath.

I'm very limited in finding an alternative broadband supplier as there is NO cable in my street. I'll need to use the BT exchange which has been upgraded to the newish fast-ish ADSL24 ... so, once again, I'm on the hunt for an alternative.

BT, kiss my ............



 

I am the dreadful menace. The one whose will is done. The haunting chill upon your neck. I am the Conundrum.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
V_R V_R is offline
@120Hz
V_R's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 10,427
 
      21st May 2012
My ISP do line rentals with their BB.... http://adsl24.co.uk/linerental/


 


Gigabyte Z87X-OC | i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz | Corsair H80i | 16Gb TeamGroup Vulcan Orange
EVGA 780 FTW | Creative X-FI Titanium HD | 500Gb Samsung EVO SSD + 4TB's of Storage
Corsair HX850 | Logitech G25 | Ducky Shine III | Deathadder 2013 | Wireless 360 Pad
Corsair Carbide 300R | BenQ XL2420T | Acoustic Energy Aego M | Windows 8.1 64 Bit
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Member Extraordinaire
crazylegs's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Out There!
Posts: 5,604
 
      21st May 2012
Unbelievable!

I haven't had a landline for over 10 years now as I have a mobile and it does the same thing, only without a wired tether..
Have Virgin fibre optic Broadband so no need of a landline there either!

Go tell em to take a hike Muck's

 



"Ironic, isn't it Smithers? This anonymous clan of slack-jawed troglodytes has cost me the election, and yet if I were to have them killed, I would be the one to go to jail. That's democracy for you." -- Mr. Burns
 
Reply With Quote
 
Captain Crunchie, Retired
muckshifter's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In a Hovel
Posts: 22,239
 
      21st May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by V_R View Post
My ISP do line rentals with their BB.... http://adsl24.co.uk/linerental/

So does mine, it's a must have, or no BB ... why?

My BB & calls costs me 13.25pm, unlimited, upto 24mb (I average 18mb) Line rental is 14.60

That ADSL24 starts @ 12.90, I assume that very basic, so I had a look, I will probably be paying 26.90 for what I get from BT.


I'm checking eBay.

 

I am the dreadful menace. The one whose will is done. The haunting chill upon your neck. I am the Conundrum.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Captain Crunchie, Retired
muckshifter's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In a Hovel
Posts: 22,239
 
      21st May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazylegs View Post
Unbelievable!

I haven't had a landline for over 10 years now as I have a mobile and it does the same thing, only without a wired tether..
Have Virgin fibre optic Broadband so no need of a landline there either!

Go tell em to take a hike Muck's
Quote:
Your home isn’t in a cable area
That means we can’t give you fibre optic broadband
, or TV.

But we’d love to give you great Virgin Broadband down your phone line (our National broadband). It’s available in most places in the UK.
Looking at costs, especially the small print hidden details "6.99 wireless router delivery fee applies to all new subscriptions" I may be better off with a company called BT.

Looks like the same V package is from 15.99 a month Plus a Virgin Phone line for 13.90 a month, not sure I can have one without the other?

[edit]Ok, more info ... It'll cost 27.99pm with a BT line, will "need" a BT line, or, 15.99pm + 13.90pm (29.98) for Vergin line, apparently I need that also.


 

I am the dreadful menace. The one whose will is done. The haunting chill upon your neck. I am the Conundrum.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Senior Member
TriplexDread's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Where ever I want to be
Posts: 6,413
 
      21st May 2012
Problem is aswell Virgin will not/refuse/not allowed/ politics, use BT's installation. They install their own..

Tried Talk Talk?

 
 
Reply With Quote
 
Crunchie Cat
Taffycat's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Wales
Posts: 9,175
 
      21st May 2012
I know that you need a BT line to receive BT BB... but ADSL24's 12.90 charge is for (BT) line rental, (you don't actually have to get BB from them and, would only pay for calls if you make them.) So would it be possible to rent your BT line from them, whilst sticking with BT for BB...? After all, it's still a BT line, but with UK offices/support, etc.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Captain Crunchie, Retired
muckshifter's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In a Hovel
Posts: 22,239
 
      21st May 2012
ok, I need to clear up one point here ... I don't want BT telephone, I just want the Broadband, however, you cannot negotiate one without the other ... its a "con" charge.

The same seems to go for ALL the others that are not cable, I loved cable, I can't get it here.

I know that some, include the line rental, and, like Virgin, have their own "lines", but I still can't seem to find anything on par to BT, in cost ... despite the stupid, never had before, min call fee, of which, I'm not going to pay.

I'm looking for unlimited Broadband, I don't need the phone, but if it comes as a free addition, what the heck, fine.

I am seriously looking, and reading the very small print, some, including BT, hide a lot of the actual cost behind these "special" offers.

I phoned, or tried to phone, for some clarification, Virgin, using their 0845 number, and, after numerous punching in numbers was told to phone another 0845 number, where I was then asked to press 1 on my Virgin phone ... huh! the mind boggles.


 

I am the dreadful menace. The one whose will is done. The haunting chill upon your neck. I am the Conundrum.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Acruncher
Abarbarian's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: A cabin in the woods by a river
Posts: 8,462
 
      21st May 2012
http://www.broadband.co.uk/broadband-speed-test

I guess you may have already found this site. After taking the test it gives a list of the cheapest deals around for your area.
Quite a few ISP's will cut the line cost if you pay for a year up front, for instance mine will give me the line for 9.99 if I pay for the year.


 

"There's a saying in Estonia that in order to see new things, you have to follow common paths - paths you know."
Games people play, you take it or you leave it
Things that they say, honor brite
If I promise you the moon and the stars, would you believe it
Games people play in the middle of the night
~Alan Parsons Project, Games People Play
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
calculating a minimum fee Jackie Microsoft Excel Worksheet Functions 3 8th Jan 2010 10:29 PM
How to lookup the minimum, 2nd minimum and 3rd minimum......... Mark McDonough Microsoft Excel Worksheet Functions 8 15th Jul 2006 09:39 PM
Licensing Fee?? 2 Year FEE for Windows XP Bim Bim Windows XP General 9 25th May 2004 05:45 PM
Re: Faxes - Computer answers ALL phone calls as fax calls Peter R. Fletcher Windows XP Print / Fax 0 9th Jul 2003 05:19 PM
Re: Faxes - Computer answers ALL phone calls as fax calls Groundhog Windows XP Print / Fax 0 9th Jul 2003 09:30 AM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:58 PM.