PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

Big Jay and (relativly) expensive couple of days.

 
 
Kingsize Crunchie
BigJay's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Llandudno
Posts: 596
 
      30th May 2012
Firstly, I'll appologise for the length is this story, but once I start, there is no stopping me!

As some may know, my HD crashed over last weekend, so I thought I'd nip into Maplin to buy a new one.

100 or so, I can live with that.

After discussing my problem with 'Justin', "our computer guru", I'm leaving Maplin with a new MB, memory and processor, a new graphics card on order, to be delivered (last) Tuesday, oh and the new HD of course.

Cost now up to 420.

Excitedly, I rushed home to fit new MB bundle into my case. Everything going swimmingly , right up to the point where I need to cable my DVD in.
The MB does not 'do' IDE....great.
No problem, I have an external dvd that I can 'USB up' and install my OS from that...simples.
Nope. Boot menu could see my DVD drive, but refused to boot from it.

OK, so I now need to buy a sata DVD.
Maplin now closed, well it was 20.45 on a Sunday night. I'll go Monday while my daughter is in school.
No, I can't, my daughter has chicken pox, that's me house bound until 17.30.

17.31 Monday, I dash out the door to find my new "Maplin computer guru, Chris", it was Justin's day off., Went through my sordid tale with Chris, he seemed enthralled by it.
A Samsung sata DVD was bought @40, but then the discussion went on to my PSU.
"Is it singe rail or multi rail?" Chris asked. The blank look and 30 seconds of silence seemed to indicate to Chris that I was out of comfort zone. So home to check my PSU.

Cost so far 460.00

It's multi rail. I do some searching online, and Chris's words of advice about really needing single rail, were backed up by several geek's* online. Back to see Chris.

Ker...ching went the cash register. Another 60 out of the account.

Cost so far 520.00.

But, come Monday evening, I'm back in the land of desktops and internet and games...oh the joy............almost putting the figure of 520 out of my head.

Tuesday @ approx 13.00, Hagar(an old friend of mine) who works for Fedex, arrived with my new Graphics card, oh the excitement!. But still looking after my sickly daughter, so no time to fit card. Will have to wait till this evening.

After work, I get home about 21.30.....lets get the GC in.....I'll stick my old broken HD back in, to see if I can get any stuff off it.

Card in, all wired up, turn it on........lights on monitor, case sounds like it's running....no picture on monitor?. Double/triple check wiring, all seems ok?????, what's going on? Faulty new card? Power issues? Faulty monitor?

Tried plugging the monitor onto the mb's onboard graphics, no joy, so thinking monitor failure.

But why would this happen now?, I mean, what a time to fail, immediately after fitting a new GC!...are the incidents linked?.

Need to confirm that the new card is ok, so I need another monitor.
I'll nip back to work, and borrow a tv/dvd/monitor thing.

Need ndmi cable....haven't got one.
Nip back to work to borrow one. Fit cable. Turn on screen.

No Signal. No problem, get up the menu, turn it to ndmi settings, easy. Nope, need the remote.
So I nipped back to work, again, spent half an hour finding the remote, and then came back home.

Changed settings to hdmi and I have the Windows 7 screen beaming back at me...hurrah!.....damn....I need a new monitor.

It should arrive Thursday.

Total bill 680.00.


PS my 'old broken HD', which started all this off, is now being recognised by my pc and appears to be working fine

* I don't include anybody on here with this label, unless you are comfortable with it!
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Senior Member
TriplexDread's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Where ever I want to be
Posts: 6,428
 
      30th May 2012
Why is single rail PSU better?

Multi rail gives the current at same rate too each individual rail

Making the running of high end GFX cards and extra hardware more reliable

Of course all down to cost aswell..

40 for a SATA dvd? WHAAAAAAAAT?!!!!

 
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
V_R V_R is offline
@120Hz
V_R's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 10,431
 
      30th May 2012
LOL! Sorry shouldn't laugh but that is one tale of woe right there...

Maplins eh? Well they sound awesome.....!

What actually happened to the drive in the first place?

 


Gigabyte Z87X-OC | i7 4770K @ 4.4Ghz | Corsair H80i | 16Gb TeamGroup Vulcan Orange
EVGA 780 FTW | Creative X-FI Titanium HD | 500Gb Samsung EVO SSD + 4TB's of Storage
Corsair HX850 | Logitech G25 | Ducky Shine III | Deathadder 2013 | Wireless 360 Pad
Corsair Carbide 300R | BenQ XL2420T | Acoustic Energy Aego M | Windows 8.1 64 Bit
 
Reply With Quote
 
sugar 'n spikes
floppybootstomp's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Greenwich
Posts: 18,256
 
      30th May 2012
My goodness

http://www.ebuyer.com/search?page=1&...ilterea71=SATA

Maplins have always been a ripoff. On everything.

Shame you didn't ask for advice here BigJay, you may have had to wait for a delivery but you'd very likely be over 300 better off.

Think what you could have bought for 300...

 
Don Van Vliet 1941 - 2010. And the acid gold bar swirled up and down, up and down.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Member Extraordinaire
crazylegs's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Out There!
Posts: 5,604
 
      30th May 2012
Ouch!!

And there was me wondering about the money I had just spent on my new smartphone, good job I didn't get it from Maplins innit..

 



"Ironic, isn't it Smithers? This anonymous clan of slack-jawed troglodytes has cost me the election, and yet if I were to have them killed, I would be the one to go to jail. That's democracy for you." -- Mr. Burns
 
Reply With Quote
 
Captain Crunchie, Retired
muckshifter's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In a Hovel
Posts: 22,271
 
      30th May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriplexDread View Post
Why is single rail PSU better?

Multi rail gives the current at same rate too each individual rail

Making the running of high end GFX cards and extra hardware more reliable
Really depends. In most cases, multiple +12V rails are actually just a single +12V source just split up into multiple +12V outputs each with a limited output capability.

I'll skip to the chase, for 99% of the folks out there single vs. multiple +12V rails is a NON ISSUE. It's something that has been hyped up by marketing folks on BOTH SIDES of the fence, it should be a non-issue assuming and providing that the PSU has all of the connectors your machine requires and there are no need for "splitters".

I'm using a no-name 600 PSU, it has done the job for a few years, however, I now need an 8-pin connector which my PSU does not have, I'll get it replaced.

YMMV

oh, BJ, enjoy your new system.

 

I am the dreadful menace. The one whose will is done. The haunting chill upon your neck. I am the Conundrum.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Senior Member
TriplexDread's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Where ever I want to be
Posts: 6,428
 
      30th May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by muckshifter View Post
Really depends. In most cases, multiple +12V rails are actually just a single +12V source just split up into multiple +12V outputs each with a limited output capability.

I'll skip to the chase, for 99% of the folks out there single vs. multiple +12V rails is a NON ISSUE. It's something that has been hyped up by marketing folks on BOTH SIDES of the fence, it should be a non-issue assuming and providing that the PSU has all of the connectors your machine requires and there are no need for "splitters".

I'm using a no-name 600 PSU, it has done the job for a few years, however, I now need an 8-pin connector which my PSU does not have, I'll get it replaced.

YMMV

oh, BJ, enjoy your new system.
Yeah Mine is only single rail. I guess if you have a decent current output it doesn't matter tbh.

I'm dumbfound that it was all bought at Maplins of all places :'(

 
 
Reply With Quote
 
Kingsize Crunchie
BigJay's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Llandudno
Posts: 596
 
      30th May 2012
Maplins simply because it's 2 mins away and in stock for immediate supply.
Yes I could have got cheaper, but all is now sorted, apart from the monitor(bought on line and cheap I hope), and any issues, my supplier is close.
And to be fair, the two computer experts very very helpful with a lot of free advice and guidance, over and above their duty. One even offered to pop round after work, if I was having problems.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Member Extraordinaire
crazylegs's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Out There!
Posts: 5,604
 
      30th May 2012
All's well that ends well!

 



"Ironic, isn't it Smithers? This anonymous clan of slack-jawed troglodytes has cost me the election, and yet if I were to have them killed, I would be the one to go to jail. That's democracy for you." -- Mr. Burns
 
Reply With Quote
 
Senior Member
bootneck02's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Maidstone, Kent, UK
Posts: 3,488
 
      30th May 2012
Thumbs up for MaplinsI have also found some of their staff are very helpfull

 
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's Big-Jay's Birthday! Taffycat General Discussion 15 9th Sep 2009 12:57 AM
Birthday Greetings Big Jay Taffycat General Discussion 15 9th Sep 2008 11:44 AM
BIG BIG BIG BGI HELP NEEDED andrew hopper \(n.ireland\) Windows XP Hardware 0 5th Aug 2004 09:40 PM
A big big big problem, please reply and help sorrybi Windows XP Performance 1 31st Oct 2003 02:14 PM
A Great Big Thanks to Jay John Brandt Microsoft Word New Users 0 5th Aug 2003 10:26 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:59 PM.