"jen" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:
>"Terry Pinnell" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
>news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>> My wife just got a message from AVG alerting her to an apparent trojan
>> called Downloader.Generic7.AKOA
>> After some experiment I found that this arises consistently when we
>> execute a file called Gwave508.exe. That's a file that has been on her
>> PC for many months, and is the setup file for an oldish version of
>> GoldWave, the sound file editor. It seems bizarre that it should
>> prompt such a message.
>> Google gave zero hits for 'Downloader.Generic7.AKOA'.
>> Anyone have any info about this please?
>> Could someone remind me of the web site to which I can forward a file
>> for up-to-date virus checking?
>
>In addition to "Virus Total" go here:
>YOU SUSPECT A FILE TO BE A FALSE POSITIVE:
>http://freeforum.avg.com/read.php?4,...,backpage=,sv=
Thanks both, appreciate the advice. I've since found a thread on the
GoldWave Support forum about a similar previous issue, and I'm now
convinced it's a false positive. Worrying that this sort of false
alert can arise. Wasted several hours on it.
--
Terry, East Grinstead, UK