PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

Another case of the dreaded Lost Desktop, Lost Icons, Lost Taskbar, etc.

 
 
tempgal
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      25th Dec 2005
Has anyone found a solution yet?

I've tried every suggestion I found on the web but nothing has worked.
Have also reinstalled Windows but the problem persists.

It came about suddenly. I rebooted and there were no icons, no start
button, no quicklaunch, no taskbar. I can only access items via the
Task Manager.

Am running XP Pro, Service Pack 1.

Please ... would welcome suggestions from anyone.

Thanks.

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
David H. Lipman
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      25th Dec 2005
From: "tempgal" <(E-Mail Removed)>

| Has anyone found a solution yet?
|
| I've tried every suggestion I found on the web but nothing has worked.
| Have also reinstalled Windows but the problem persists.
|
| It came about suddenly. I rebooted and there were no icons, no start
| button, no quicklaunch, no taskbar. I can only access items via the
| Task Manager.
|
| Am running XP Pro, Service Pack 1.
|
| Please ... would welcome suggestions from anyone.
|
| Thanks.

Have you tried logging in via a different account ?

Have you tried executing userinit.exe ?


Download MULTI_AV.EXE from the URL --
http://www.ik-cs.com/programs/virtools/Multi_AV.exe

To use this utility, perform the following...
Execute; Multi_AV.exe { Note: You must use the default folder C:\AV-CLS }
Choose; Unzip
Choose; Close

Execute; C:\AV-CLS\StartMenu.BAT
{ or Double-click on 'Start Menu' in C:\AV-CLS }

NOTE: You may have to disable your software FireWall or allow WGET.EXE to go through your
FireWall to allow it to download the needed AV vendor related files.

C:\AV-CLS\StartMenu.BAT -- { or Double-click on 'Start Menu' in C:\AV-CLS}
This will bring up the initial menu of choices and should be executed in Normal Mode.
This way all the components can be downloaded from each AV vendor's web site.
The choices are; Sophos, Trend, McAfee, Kaspersky, Exit this menu and Reboot the PC.

You can choose to go to each menu item and just download the needed files or you can
download the files and perform a scan in Normal Mode. Once you have downloaded the files
needed for each scanner you want to use, you should reboot the PC into Safe Mode [F8 key
during boot] and re-run the menu again and choose which scanner you want to run in Safe
Mode. It is suggested to run the scanners in both Safe Mode and Normal Mode.

When the menu is displayed hitting 'H' or 'h' will bring up a more comprehensive PDF help
file. http://www.ik-cs.com/multi-av.htm


* * * Please report back your results * * *


--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
tempgal
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      26th Dec 2005
I can't do any of the suggestions. Trying userinit.exe only results in
a quick flash of something which then disappears (same thing as happens
when I try to start explorer.exe from Task Manager.

I can't download anything to a specific folder because I can't access
Internet Explorer and Mozilla will only download to the desktop.

Can't access Control Panel to turnoff any firewall.

I'm just stuck.

 
Reply With Quote
 
David H. Lipman
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      26th Dec 2005
From: "tempgal" <(E-Mail Removed)>

| I can't do any of the suggestions. Trying userinit.exe only results in
| a quick flash of something which then disappears (same thing as happens
| when I try to start explorer.exe from Task Manager.
|
| I can't download anything to a specific folder because I can't access
| Internet Explorer and Mozilla will only download to the desktop.
|
| Can't access Control Panel to turnoff any firewall.
|
| I'm just stuck.

You can put a URL such as...
http://www.ik-cs.com/programs/virtools/Multi_AV.exe

in the TaskManager "run" dialogue.
And you can follow the other directions as well.

I also asked -- "Have you tried logging in via a different account ?"
Have you ?

--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm


 
Reply With Quote
 
tempgal
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      26th Dec 2005
I can't login via any other account. The only one that appears is my
usual one and I can't create another.

 
Reply With Quote
 
David H. Lipman
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      26th Dec 2005
From: "tempgal" <(E-Mail Removed)>

| I can't login via any other account. The only one that appears is my
| usual one and I can't create another.

Using TaskManager, "Run"
http://www.ik-cs.com/programs/virtools/Multi_AV.exe

Don't save it, just run it.
{ Note: You must use the default folder C:\AV-CLS }
Choose; Unzip
Choose; Close

Using TaskManager, "Run", execute; C:\AV-CLS\StartMenu.BAT

--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm


 
Reply With Quote
 
tempgal@bellsouth.net
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      8th Jan 2006
SUCCESS! It wasn't a virus. It was the uninstallation of Google
Desktop Search that caused this major problem. Quite by accident, I
did a google search and found numerous others who had experienced
similar difficulties.

I think Google should take some of their handsome profits and reimburse
me the $200 that I spent for additional hardware to backup my data in
preparation for doing a full reformatting which I ultimately didn't
have to do.

Beware Google Desktop Search!

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
upper case - lower case issues - dropdown box is case sensitive??? fishqqq@hotmail.com Microsoft Access Form Coding 0 19th Oct 2011 04:58 PM
Can't find short cut for changing case ... upper case .... lower case JERRY Microsoft Word New Users 7 23rd Aug 2007 05:29 PM
The dreaded ASP Datagrid...dynamically created controls being lost on a postback.... ? news.zen.co.uk Microsoft VB .NET 0 1st Apr 2005 10:52 AM
A Case, A Case, My Kingdom For A Case! Spooky Mouse General 8 15th Aug 2004 11:47 PM
another dreaded Concurrency Violation problem maxhodges Microsoft ADO .NET 1 28th Jul 2003 07:45 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:51 AM.