PC Review


Reply
Thread Tools Rate Thread

ANN: Kelly's website

 
 
PA Bear [MS MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      16th Mar 2008
Most of us are familiar with the contributions made by MVP Kelly Theriot to
this newsgroup over the years, and most of us use her website and hosted
files on a regular basis.

Unfortunately, Kelly's website (kellys-korner-xp.com) and associated pages
have been "lost" (temporarily, we hope) and are now being hosted by another,
fairly suspect owner.

Do NOT use or cite any of Kelly's pages or links for the time being!

Do NOT click on any links on the current kellys-korner-xp.com page!

Do NOT click on any links in a pop-up you may get at the current
kellys-korner-xp.com page! [1]

Also see
http://groups.google.com/group/micro...61262b8aa4183d

==========================

[1] Some interesting User Reviews here for the site hosting the pic in
upper-right of the current page: http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/cnomy.com

Mike Burgess' custom hosts file blocks the pic and the site cnomy.com for
your protection: http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm
--
~Robear Dyer (PA Bear)
MS MVP-IE, Mail, Security, Windows Desktop Experience - since 2002
AumHa VSOP & Admin http://aumha.net
DTS-L http://dts-l.net/

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Synapse Syndrome
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      16th Mar 2008
"PA Bear [MS MVP]" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>
> Do NOT click on any links on the current kellys-korner-xp.com page!
>


No need to panic? The domain has just expired. It's just a standard
expired domain page, which some registrars use to advertise on.

Creation Date: 14-Mar-2002
Expiration Date: 14-Mar-2008

Her address and phone are easily found, if you feel are that concerned.

ss.


 
Reply With Quote
 
PA Bear [MS MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      16th Mar 2008
Synapse Syndrome wrote:
> "PA Bear [MS MVP]" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>>
>> Do NOT click on any links on the current kellys-korner-xp.com page!

>
> No need to panic? The domain has just expired. It's just a standard
> expired domain page, which some registrars use to advertise on.
>
> Creation Date: 14-Mar-2002
> Expiration Date: 14-Mar-2008
>
> Her address and phone are easily found, if you feel are that concerned.


The fact that it's expired is not the concern. [Kelly is a longtime
colleague and we've been in touch, thankyouverymuch.]

The concern is the rascal currently "sitting" on the page as well as the
graphics and links on the current page. See the references I posted.
--
~Robear Dyer (PA Bear)
MS MVP-IE, Mail, Security, Windows Desktop Experience - since 2002
AumHa VSOP & Admin http://aumha.net
DTS-L http://dts-l.net/

 
Reply With Quote
 
Daave
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      16th Mar 2008
PA Bear [MS MVP] wrote:
> Unfortunately, Kelly's website (kellys-korner-xp.com) and associated
> pages have been "lost" (temporarily, we hope) and are now being
> hosted by another, fairly suspect owner.


Until this gets sorted out, I recommend folks use the Wayback Machine:

http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://...korner-xp.com/


 
Reply With Quote
 
MAP
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      16th Mar 2008
PA Bear [MS MVP] wrote:
> Most of us are familiar with the contributions made by MVP Kelly
> Theriot to this newsgroup over the years, and most of us use her
> website and hosted files on a regular basis.
>
> Unfortunately, Kelly's website (kellys-korner-xp.com) and associated
> pages have been "lost" (temporarily, we hope) and are now being
> hosted by another, fairly suspect owner.
>
> Do NOT use or cite any of Kelly's pages or links for the time being!
>
> Do NOT click on any links on the current kellys-korner-xp.com page!
>
> Do NOT click on any links in a pop-up you may get at the current
> kellys-korner-xp.com page! [1]
>
> Also see
> http://groups.google.com/group/micro...61262b8aa4183d
>
> ==========================
>
> [1] Some interesting User Reviews here for the site hosting the pic in
> upper-right of the current page:
> http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/cnomy.com
> Mike Burgess' custom hosts file blocks the pic and the site cnomy.com
> for your protection: http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/hosts.htm



This is a sad day,Kelly's website was one of the first sites I found when I
decieded to get off my rear and "learn" something about my operating system.
If memory serves correctly something like this happened about 3 or 4 years
ago as well and she corrected it.(fingers crossed).

--
Mike Pawlak


 
Reply With Quote
 
PA Bear [MS MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      16th Mar 2008
Excellent idea! Thanks, Daave!

Tweaks page (downloads OK)
http://web.archive.org/web/200708111.../xp_tweaks.htm
--
~Robear Dyer (PA Bear)
MS MVP-IE, Mail, Security, Windows Desktop Experience - since 2002
AumHa VSOP & Admin http://aumha.net
DTS-L http://dts-l.net/


Daave wrote:
> PA Bear [MS MVP] wrote:
>> Unfortunately, Kelly's website (kellys-korner-xp.com) and associated
>> pages have been "lost" (temporarily, we hope) and are now being
>> hosted by another, fairly suspect owner.

>
> Until this gets sorted out, I recommend folks use the Wayback Machine:
>
> http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://...korner-xp.com/


 
Reply With Quote
 
Synapse Syndrome
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      16th Mar 2008
"PA Bear [MS MVP]" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>
> The fact that it's expired is not the concern. [Kelly is a longtime
> colleague and we've been in touch, thankyouverymuch.]
>
> The concern is the rascal currently "sitting" on the page as well as the
> graphics and links on the current page. See the references I posted.



The poster who said he had malware must have got it from another source -
nothing to do with that URL address.

There is no rascal "sitting" on the page, other than the registrar. She has
till the 13-Apr-2008 to renew before it is made available.

There is nothing out of the ordinary happening at all, apart from Kelly
Theriot not renewing her domain, for whatever reason.

ss.


 
Reply With Quote
 
David H. Lipman
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      16th Mar 2008
From: "Synapse Syndrome" <(E-Mail Removed)>

| The poster who said he had malware must have got it from another source -
| nothing to do with that URL address.
|
| There is no rascal "sitting" on the page, other than the registrar. She has
| till the 13-Apr-2008 to renew before it is made available.
|
| There is nothing out of the ordinary happening at all, apart from Kelly
| Theriot not renewing her domain, for whatever reason.
|
| ss.
|


That would be me.

I visited the site. Hosted by ThePlanet.

When I closed that page I was given the page on; cnomy.com

I was then given a Pop-Up "New Offer!" -- "Do you want to block spam emails".
As I stated this so-called spam blocker is actually adware from 160Solutions and HotBar.

There was also cross-domain malicious activity that I blocked.

I stand by my findings and they are repeatable.

--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
Multi-AV - http://www.pctipp.ch/downloads/dl/35905.asp


 
Reply With Quote
 
PA Bear [MS MVP]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      16th Mar 2008
Synapse Syndrome wrote:
> "PA Bear [MS MVP]" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
> news:(E-Mail Removed)...
>>
>> The fact that it's expired is not the concern. [Kelly is a longtime
>> colleague and we've been in touch, thankyouverymuch.]
>>
>> The concern is the rascal currently "sitting" on the page as well as the
>> graphics and links on the current page. See the references I posted.

>
> The poster who said he had malware must have got it from another source -
> nothing to do with that URL address.\

<snip>

Nonsense. 2 pix on the current page are hosted by cnomny.com. See
http://www.siteadvisor.com/sites/cnomy.com

Please quit harping on what needs to be done to reassume ownership of the
domain. That's old news.

And I would appreciate it if you didn't snip parts of my posts in your
original replies to them.
--
~PAÞ

 
Reply With Quote
 
Daave
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      17th Mar 2008
YW, Robear.

PA Bear [MS MVP] wrote:
> Excellent idea! Thanks, Daave!
>
> Tweaks page (downloads OK)
>

http://web.archive.org/web/200708111.../xp_tweaks.htm
>
> Daave wrote:
>> PA Bear [MS MVP] wrote:
>>> Unfortunately, Kelly's website (kellys-korner-xp.com) and associated
>>> pages have been "lost" (temporarily, we hope) and are now being
>>> hosted by another, fairly suspect owner.

>>
>> Until this gets sorted out, I recommend folks use the Wayback
>> Machine:
>>
>> http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://...korner-xp.com/



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Kelly at Kelly's Corner or other experts =?Utf-8?B?UGV0ZSBDYXJy?= Windows XP General 32 4th Nov 2007 06:40 PM
Kelly at Kelly's Corner or other experts =?Utf-8?B?UGV0ZSBDYXJy?= Windows XP Customization 4 3rd Nov 2007 01:52 AM
Free website templates, website tools & website articles webguruaish@gmail.com Microsoft Frontpage 1 27th Apr 2007 12:01 PM
THANKS KELLY matt Windows XP General 1 6th Jul 2004 08:22 AM
Need Kelly's website Patty Windows XP Help 2 24th Oct 2003 05:01 PM


Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:03 AM.