KHaled wrote:
> Aaron <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in
> news:(E-Mail Removed):
>
>>See for example
>>http://www.quirk.co.za/searchstatus/
> Doubious people.. they have a link to a site that claims that
> you can get firefox from, and that site takes you to the
> mozilla site.. Why not just have the Mozilla site ??
That button/link is just part of
www.spreadfirefox.com marketing
campaign which itself is offically supported by Firefox (linked from
http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/ with the linktext "spread the
word").
Lots of sites have it, eg many blogs, none-profit organisations, hobby
sites etc. Heck even my site has one.
> Seems that it's a click gathering scheme, which would cast
> doubt about any service they offer..
Yes, it's just a way to count how many people find firefox through your
website. A friendly competition , they certainly aren't paid for
clicksthrus if that is what you are implying.
> Or am I being paranoid ??
Yes, you are paranoid at least in this case. I think yhere is some
privacy risks using third party extensions that add google's PR rank
though. And this is beyond that of using the normal google PR toolbar
feature.